Does Repaint Require Primer Again? - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 05:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Question

does repaint require primer again?


i had some stucco window surroundings painted enamel and used zinsser primer first. now i changed my mind about the color and wanna repaint it white but was wondering if i need to use primer again. this time there is also window sealant i want to paint. should i apply the primer only over the sealant edges or should i do the whole thing over?

thanks

Advertisement

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:22 PM   #2
Member
 
BraniksPainting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 124
Rewards Points: 75
Default

does repaint require primer again?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
i had some stucco window surroundings painted enamel and used zinsser primer first. now i changed my mind about the color and wanna repaint it white but was wondering if i need to use primer again. this time there is also window sealant i want to paint. should i apply the primer only over the sealant edges or should i do the whole thing over?

thanks
No you don't need to prime again. Hopefully your "window sealant" is paintable. Otherwise........

Advertisement

BraniksPainting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

does repaint require primer again?


it is Quad window sealant. otherwise, i want to paint it white and the sealant is also white, so who cares
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 04:45 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

does repaint require primer again?


Yes I have simply painted over again in those situations.. no need to use primer again.
diychat12 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to diychat12 For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (03-06-2012)
Old 03-06-2012, 06:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cape May, NJ
Posts: 2,392
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

does repaint require primer again?


You should always paint over exposed caulk, especially exterior. Caulk retains a tackiness that attracts dirt. Also, caulk that is exposed to the elements will tend to degrade quicker. Use paint to protect it as well as the substrate.
jsheridan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
repaint


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zinsser Bathroom Paint canuckjack Painting 7 08-27-2012 09:00 AM
Fresh acrylic primer + paint not sticking paul_l Painting 12 09-23-2010 10:06 AM
Zinsser primer not drying kevinkk Painting 9 12-17-2009 09:56 PM
Best primer for bathroom ceiling dbldee20 Painting 11 01-06-2009 04:25 PM
prepping old wood for painting newb questions afabco Painting 19 08-07-2008 12:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts