Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2014, 10:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Do I need to reprime


I primed (Behr latex primer) my drywall about 6 weeks ago, then found out that the paint I wanted to use (Ralph lauren suede) was not in stock. I finally received the paint and am reasy to paint - do I need to reprime? If so, do I simple apply the same regular primer over the existing primer or do I need to get a different primer (since it's going on top of existing primer)?
thx

cgott42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 11:24 AM   #2
Member
 
cj133's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N.J.
Posts: 286
Default

Do I need to reprime


If it was me, I would make sure the walls are dust free and just paint them. No reason to prime again.

__________________
Steam heat pictures.
https://picasaweb.google.com/thetube0a3/Boiler?authkey=Gv1sRgCImUxIqv9436MQ#
1933 GE Monitor Top refrigerator restoration video
http://youtu.be/y2LWjT3e7uQ
cj133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 12:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Jmayspaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,076
Default

Do I need to reprime


I wouldn't think you would need to prime again. Would be a good idea to sand the primer though, at this point the primer has reached full cure. It won't be as easy for the finish coat to bond well. Scuffing it up would help that.
Jmayspaint is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 01:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,230
Default

Do I need to reprime


Probably overkill but I would re-prime 6 weeks is quite awhile things could have been sprayed (hairspray, deodorizer, air freshener, ect.), spilled, rubbed against, and "I don't know what that is". And another coat of primer for insurance wouldn't be much more than sanding.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 02:08 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Do I need to reprime


Quote:
Originally Posted by ToolSeeker View Post
Probably overkill but I would re-prime 6 weeks is quite awhile things could have been sprayed (hairspray, deodorizer, air freshener, ect.), spilled, rubbed against, and "I don't know what that is". And another coat of primer for insurance wouldn't be much more than sanding.
Easy to reprime than sand.
Do I just apply another coat of primer directly on the existing one?
cgott42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 04:45 PM   #6
paper hanger and painter
 
chrisn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 6,660
Default

Do I need to reprime


Quote:
Originally Posted by cgott42 View Post
Easy to reprime than sand.
Do I just apply another coat of primer directly on the existing one?

yes

chrisn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chrisn For This Useful Post:
ToolSeeker (07-13-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.