Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-23-2009, 05:24 PM   #1

Share |

Different colors- taping

Hi there everyone,

I am very new at painting and I have this new house where the family room has never been painted. I donít know what exactly is on the wall now I would guess itís a white primer. This room also has a large cut out areas between the family room and the adjacent room and I have decided to paint it different colors. I am also painting the TV area which is a recessed area a darker color blue. I am using blue tape to separate the two colors between the rounded corners. When I remove the tape the paint is peeling off, peeling back, and even the white that was under the paint color is peeling back too. Some areas where I have removed the tape there is bleeding of color and the line is not straight. I donít know if I need to use primer first, and then use the paint color? Not sure what would be a way to make it a clean line? I have used Sherwin Williams in one area and Valspar paint, but it happens with both paints.

Thanks in advance for the suggestions

mara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 07:51 AM   #2

Different colors- taping

I run in to this same problem, I don't know what the pro's do for this. The paint peels off with the tape I'm supposeing because although its "dry", it hasn't hardened up yet. On the cans it says to wait 30 days to wash. I figure you can either wait a long time before painting the other color or what I end up doing is free hand it in. Putting the tape is no guarantee that the line is straight. I'm doing some offices at work now, I tape the first wall, paint, remove tape and free hand the second color in, I don't have the neccesary waiting time for it to harden up. When we DIY we have to understand what is acceptable to ourselves and live with it or hire the pros.

Old 01-24-2009, 07:57 AM   #3
Remodeling Contractor