Color Combinations That Are Cool To The Eyes Of The Elderly?????? - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-02-2011, 03:00 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Color combinations that are cool to the eyes of the elderly??????

hey guys,i'm a doctor and i've set up an elderly clinic. It had been two days when all the carpentry had been finished and right now, i'm stucked because i don't know what color to paint the walls. i would prefer a shade of green or yellow since they are colors soothing to the eyes and are easily seen by aged. I'm trying to avoid red, purple and orange since based from studies, they increase blood pressure.What shades of blue/yellow should i use? What colors should i combine green with? Also, i'd like to ask your opinion if it's ok to put sofa with printed design. Your opinion would be highly appreciated. Thank you very much!

Advertisement

doc_nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 06:04 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

Hey Doc, while I'm not an expert in color psychology, I think the blue is the better choice. And, blue can be mixed with green. Blue and green are in now. Step lightly with the yellow, maybe use it as an accent. If my memory serves me, yellow requires the most of your eyes to process, kind of like the smile/frown saying. I also remember reading that yellow is not good for nurserys because it can cause irritability. I think blue, green, with a cream accent/trim would be calm and easy on the eyes. I guess a print would be okay as long as it's not too busy. Put some thought too to what your patients would appreciate as decor as well. I think blues with a value around robin's egg are nice. Don't know if it's in your budget, but have you thought of hiring a designer/color expert with a good understanding of color psychology? Just a thought.

Advertisement