Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-24-2012, 07:14 PM   #1

Share |

Canvas walls

My father-in-law has a home that is 90+ years old. He has canvas walls (and ceilings) that have been painted. A roof leak has caused some peeling / buckling of the canvas. Does anyone still sell canvas so that I can "patch" the damaged area. Nobody seems to know what I am talking about when I go to home improvement stores.

timothy5hol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 07:17 PM   #2

Canvas walls

I'm pretty sure no one's going to have a clue what your talking about on this one.
I've been rehabing 100 plus year old houses off and on for 30 years plus and have never even heard of one.
Post some pictures.
If you Yahoo "canvas ceiling repair) some sites come up.

Last edited by joecaption; 05-24-2012 at 09:00 PM.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 04:20 AM   #3
paper hanger and painter

Canvas walls

It was a very common "wall covering" back in the day. I still see it all the time around here. It was apparently put up to hide the hairline cracks in the plaster.Try looking under old restoration sites. If I have time I will look for it.
chrisn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 04:26 AM   #4
paper hanger and painter

Canvas walls

http://www.ehow.com/how_7895780_repa...r-plaster.html
Old 05-26-2012, 12:14 PM   #5

Canvas walls

Thanks for the "heads up", chrisn. The E-how link is very helpful. Now I just need to find a store that carries "resurfacing paper". The ACE hardware by me didn't know what I was talking about. Any leads would be appreciated.
Old 05-26-2012, 12:21 PM   #6
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Canvas walls

An art supply store will have canvas in varying grades and thicknesses and in bulk rolls, primed and unprimed. An awning company or even fabric store might be willing to order for you.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote