Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2009, 11:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Can I sand between top coats?


I just put on a first top coat and noticed some drips too late. Can I sand them down before putting on the final top coat?

cevamal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 11:26 PM   #2
Haste Makes Waste
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 292
Default

Can I sand between top coats?


A light sanding is always good between coats (app 220 grit)

saggdevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 02:54 AM   #3
paper hanger and painter
 
chrisn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 6,650
Default

Can I sand between top coats?


You will have a hard time sanding freshly applied paint. Take your 5 in 1 and scrape off,patch and re paint.
chrisn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 06:01 AM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Can I sand between top coats?


sand what? paint? oil or latex?
varnish? poly? lacquer? shellac?
how long has it dried? still soft will not sand, just make a big mess.
i've taken a single edged razor and had success at removing drips with no need to repaint.
is it drops on flat surface, or drips/runs on vertical?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 06:20 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Can I sand between top coats?


Sorry for the lack of details!

It's latex paint. I finished last night at eleven and won't be able to get to a second coat until around eleven this morning, so twelve hours dry time. It's drips on vertical.

The 5-in-1/razor is a great idea, thanks!
cevamal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do screw heads really need to be mudded with three coats? KUIPORNG Remodeling 33 09-17-2011 01:54 AM
How many Coats Wiluven Painting 5 01-21-2008 05:50 AM
sealing grout, how many coats? Yeti Flooring 1 10-19-2007 10:23 PM
2 coats versus 3 coats joeyboy Painting 9 08-24-2007 11:43 AM
Be honest, do you really do three coats on everything? KUIPORNG Remodeling 18 03-30-2007 03:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.