DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Painting (http://www.diychatroom.com/f4/)
-   -   Cabinet Opinions (http://www.diychatroom.com/f4/cabinet-opinions-119939/)

Gerane 10-12-2011 03:41 PM

Cabinet Opinions
 
I am closing on my new home tomorrow. I am good with my hands and have been dying to do DIY projects. It's just in my blood, my grandfather built his house, my dad renovated the same house from top to bottom.

Here is where my question comes in, this is our starter home, so budget is a huge issue. Our cabinets now are very plain stock cabinets, with not much too them. The wife and I both loved antiqued looks, white antigue to be more exact.

I am wondering if my cabinets have too little detail in them for an antique wash of some sort to look good. Has anyone had any experience with this?
I included a picture of the cabinets to give you an idea of what I'm working with. Any unforseen issues you see I may encounter with these? I was planning on adding a crown type moulding to the tops of the cabinets to give them a bit better look and possibly adding in some lighting to atleast the underside of the cabinets.

EDIT: was also looking for some advice on methods to get our desired look on these cabinets.

http://photos1.zillow.com/is/image/i...ei=446&wid=596

josall 10-12-2011 04:41 PM

I woudnt do anything to the cabinets they look to be in great condition, but I would put in a nice back spash, change cabinet hardware, add lighting and add some trim as you suggested and change the wall color.

1910NE 10-12-2011 07:44 PM

Those cabinets look exactly like the ones I had in a previous home. Red Oak face frames and doors, and the rest of them (including the drawers) were made out of particle board. I would live with them until you discover if your new place has any unexpected surprises. Then, if all is well, replace them with something you like better.

I realize that does not really answer your original question...

Gerane 10-13-2011 07:41 AM

New cabinets is out of the question with our budget. Which is why we were thinking of painting. We both don't really like the color of the cabinets currently.

What type trim items would you recommend? and what would be best method of matching the trim to current color?

Would painting them hurt our resale value or wuld it stay roughly the same?

1910NE 10-13-2011 07:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gerane (Post 747847)
New cabinets is out of the question with our budget. Which is why we were thinking of painting. We both don't really like the color of the cabinets currently.

What type trim items would you recommend? and what would be best method of matching the trim to current color?

Would painting them hurt our resale value or wuld it stay roughly the same?

Resale value when? If you are going to try and flip the house right away, they look fine. If you are talking some time in the next 10+ years....those cabinets will need to be replaced before then anyway.

josall 10-13-2011 08:16 AM

I'm not a painted cabinet fan, but to answer your question it depends on the quality of work that you do. To match your stain just take a drawer to your local pro paint store like Sherwin Wiliams and they can match.

kkeith 10-13-2011 08:26 AM

Since the cabinets are already sealed with lacquer etc, you can't put on a stain type wash as there is nothing to soak into. Another option is to paint the cabinets, and then add and rub off an antiquing glaze over the paint which will darken the recesses and highlight the oak wood grain.

Gerane 10-13-2011 08:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kkeith (Post 747878)
Since the cabinets are already sealed with lacquer etc, you can't put on a stain type wash as there is nothing to soak into. Another option is to paint the cabinets, and then add and rub off an antiquing glaze over the paint which will darken the recesses and highlight the oak wood grain.

This was my plan. When my dad renovated his, he did his kitchen island this way and we loved it.

He is actually building us an island, is a smaller 2x3 on, but with a handmade bucther block top hes making out of old growth timber. It is in similar style to this picture
http://www.homelement.com/images/HD-4508-865.jpg

It will be painted a sea green/blue. Another reason we liked the mentioned style of panted cabinet as we love the combination of the island with those antiqued type cabinets.

kkeith 10-13-2011 08:41 AM

That is the look I was talking about, and if your father has done it he can offer onsite guidance and tips.

Gerane 10-14-2011 10:05 AM

Do you think that type looks will look ok/right on those type of cabinets?

Blondesense 10-14-2011 11:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gerane (Post 747847)
Would painting them hurt our resale value or would it stay roughly the same?

I would think long and hard before doing this. I agree those cabinets wouldn't be my first choice, but unless meticulously done, painted cabinets often look like painted cabinets. And there is no DIY finish that will be as durable as a factory lacquer.
I would also be afraid if you went with a white or off white cabinets your black appliances would dominate the area.

I agree with Josall. A non-blah paint choice and an awesome back splash would make a world of difference.

And to answer your last question: No, I don't think your style of cabinets really matches the paint treatment you are considering.

jsheridan 10-14-2011 03:07 PM

Another consideration is that of your overall decor. While the picture with the island has some green in it, and it looks nice, the overall room looks antique. Will antiqued cabinets fit with the rest of your plans? If your heart is set on it, and you're committed to changing the cabinet appearance, do a few prominent sections and see what it looks like. If you don't like it, just paint over.

Gerane 10-30-2011 05:13 PM

We finally got moved in and have done a few DIY projects over last couple weekends. Below are a few pictures of the kitchen. These are when backsplash is almost done. Still needed a small amount of cleaning here, and I also installed under mount lighting since these pictures.

We are still highly considering painting the cabinets. We are starting to lean towards painting them white with a nice lacquer paint. We have looked at some cabinets with a similar style to our current ones that are white and really like the look.

When it comes to the actual quality of the paint job, I have a bit of help with this aspect of it. My dad has offered to help if we do decide to go with painting them. He has painted cars his entire life so he knows how to paint with the best of them. He has painted some cabinets white in his own home and have seen how they turned out, and really liked it.

If we did white cabinets we would be eventually putting down some dark hardwood through kitchen and into living area. Though possibly a laminate since our cat likes to play in his water bowl(or any water for that matter).

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16...-53-55_795.jpg
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a16...-54-04_546.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved