Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-14-2008, 01:16 PM   #1
Do it yourselfer

Share |

Bubbling and peeling

We just moved into our house about four months ago and I started painting all the rooms including the ceilings. I used primer for the walls before I painted since I didn't know what kind of paint they used before. But when it came to the ceiling I just used ceiling paint assuming they used ceiling paint also. Well within minutes of paint the ceiling it started to bubble and peel and chips of paint were coming off on the roller. This happened on all the ceilings in all the rooms. What happened and what do I do next?

sjaconski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 01:53 PM   #2

Bubbling and peeling

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjaconski View Post
We just moved into our house about four months ago and I started painting all the rooms including the ceilings. I used primer for the walls before I painted since I didn't know what kind of paint they used before. But when it came to the ceiling I just used ceiling paint assuming they used ceiling paint also. Well within minutes of paint the ceiling it started to bubble and peel and chips of paint were coming off on the roller. This happened on all the ceilings in all the rooms. What happened and what do I do next?

I assume you meant the old paint was chipping and cracking... Assuming old paint, then it is simply a matter of surface prep. Start scraping, spackling, sanding, patching, etc to have a solid surface to work with. However, peeling paint on the inside is a sign of something worse like moisture. If I had to guess, you are in a single story home and the attic is not ventilated/insulated properly or no vapor barrier .... thus causing condensation and paint deterioration over time. Just a guess though.

Last edited by Bubbagump; 10-14-2008 at 01:57 PM.
Bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote