Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-20-2011, 10:05 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Best way to paint cabinets

Hi,
I'm new to painting cabinet so I need advise on best way to do it.
------------------------------
Paint:
1. I have already purchased a trim primer and paint, best they had at Sherwin-Williams, based on some help from other thread here. (Boy, it's expensive). Can it be used to paint cabinets since it's supposed to give nice smooth finish?
2. There are some paints specifically made for cabinets at home improvement center, but I'm not sure about the quality, and quality is what I'm looking for.
3. My sister-in-law had some custom shelf cabinets painted at her job (as a favor, they do it for cabinets they build) and she told me that they use some special paint that is mixed with some "hardener" if I understood her correctly. I like the finish she has on her cabinets, but I'm not sure where to get this kind of paint.
------------------------------
Method:
My options are:
1. Good quality brush (got one)
2. Good quality roller (don't have one, but if needed, which one should I get?)
3. Sprayer (I have Airless Graco sprayer that I have used once on a few doors with mixed results, probably lack of my experience, and most paint ended up on the floor, cause I was too far, afraid to put too much paint, but I'm willing to give it another try)
4. HVLP sprayer (don't have one, but if this is the preferred method, I can get one)

Please help. I really rather repaints my laundry and 3 bathroom cabinets than buy new ones, since they are in a good shape, construction wise.

Last edited by robercik72; 12-20-2011 at 10:06 AM. Reason: spelling correction
robercik72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 10:36 AM   #2

I repainted my kitchen cabinets with great results. Here's what I did: