Benjamin Moore Advance Screwup - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-18-2014, 12:03 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Benjamin Moore Advance Screwup

I'm a hobbyist cabinet maker who has done a lot of spraying and, against my better judgment, I decided to roll/brush some interior trim work. The trim is a simple shaker-style wainscoting, 5' high and made of MDF (filled, sanded, caulked, primed). My local BM dealer sold me on using Advance claiming it will level fine after rolling. I found that it dried quicker than I was expecting and while, I was able to catch the frequent runs, it really just didn't brush very well. Rolling was quick, but I ended up with stippling that now looks more like orange peel. I also made the mistake of trying to cut in ever panel and then rolling which has resulted in a lot of flashing where my brush-work didn't blend.

The big question is what are my best options at this point for fixing this? It's only about 12 hours old and I can already hear my orbital sander calling to me from the garage. I assume I should wait a few days for the paint to cure.

I've only done one coat with the Advance at the moment, but I won't be trying to brush it on vertical panels again.
Attached Thumbnails
Benjamin Moore Advance Screwup-paintscrewup.jpg  

Advertisement

gwil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 07:43 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 4,448

What I use is Advance to spray, Pro classic to brush. Let me ask a couple questions. Did you add anything to the paint, Such as Flotrol or xim extender? The main complaint I have heard about Advance is it's too slow drying, and it's thin and you really need to watch for runs and sags. But too be honest pro classic also has some quirks.