Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-20-2011, 05:01 PM   #1

Share |
Smile

bathroom walls

Hi everyone,
I am in the middle of redoing my bathroom walls. This is my first project of this type. I removed wall paper that had been up for at least the 15yrs I've lived here. But, it is what was underneath the wall paper that has had me stumped.....see attached pictures. I believe these walls have always been covered in paper.

I have touched up alot of areas with mud and reseamed some joints. There also seems to be two different types of texture on the top vs the bottom of the wall. I'm unsure how smooth the wall actually needs to be before I start priming. I plan on adding some light texture to the paint to help hide some of the imperfections.

All input would be appreciated as I am unsure on a number of steps.

Thanks so much!
Attached Thumbnails
bathroom walls-post.jpg   bathroom walls-post1.jpg   bathroom walls-post2.jpg   bathroom walls-post3.jpg  

sheilagirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:09 PM   #2

bathroom walls

Sheila, is that another layer of paper? I see texture but not sure if it is texture from paper still there or from the backing of the removed paper. It looks a little like a layer of sanitest, an old wallpaper.

jsheridan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 06:40 PM   #3

bathroom walls

Hi Joe,
Thanks for the reply. There is not any paper left. I have lightly sanded the surface also before patching with mud. The dark surfaces are what was under the paper and you can see a slight texture that was also there under the paper. I thought maybe this was lightly textured originally, but there is such a difference between the top and bottom drywall that it's hard to say.
Old 03-20-2011, 07:41 PM   #4
Rubbin walls since'79

bathroom walls