Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-09-2012, 03:36 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 16

Advice on painting edge next to tile

I'm looking for advice on how to get a good edge between my bathroom tiles and the painted wall. We are going to change the color of the existing wall. This was painted in the summer when we did a bathroom remodel, but we have decided to change the color. The tile is a crackled glaze, and pencil tile was used as an edge. I have attached some photos to show how it currently looks. The glass tiles in the border are 1 inch square, to give you an idea of scale.

As a complete newbie, I'd like to know how to get a nice edge between the painted wall and the pencil tile. As you will see from the pictures, the previous attempt (not by me, btw) was not too good.
Attached Thumbnails
Advice on painting edge next to tile-bath_paint_1.jpg   Advice on painting edge next to tile-bath_paint_2.jpg  

stuvwxyz99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:42 PM   #2
Rubbin walls since'79

Rewards Points: 2,000

This is a tricky spot- because it is not even, an it is rough.
One way is to tape the line, finger and blade tape down hard, then take caulk or a clear primer like Gardz or Peel Bond and seal the edge of the tape. paint and then you might have to carefully score the edge of the tape so it doesn't pull up paint, and remove at a 45% angle.
Sounds harder than it is.

Old 12-09-2012, 04:06 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brushjockey View Post
This is a tricky spot- because it is not even, an it is rough.
One way is to tape the line, finger and blade tape down hard, then take caulk or a clear primer like Gardz or Peel Bond and seal the edge of the tape. paint and then you might have to carefully score the edge of the tape so it doesn't pull up paint, and remove at a 45% angle.
Sounds harder than it is.