Advice Needed! - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-24-2011, 04:44 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Advice needed!

Hello,

I've been stripping paint off of my mother in law's bathroom walls in preparation for painting because the previous owners used 1 coat of poor paint and it was bubbling, cracking, etc. The largest wall is almost done, and it appears to be drywall (this house was built in the 1920's). We started stripping the other walls, and just under the surface, it appears to be some sort of brown, papery substance. Unfortunately, the previous owners used this on the rest of the bathroom walls (we think they remodeled things). I have no idea how we are going to paint this. Does anyone have any ideas? I'm not 100% sure exactly what these walls are made of, but it appears to be drywall. I am new to DIYing and very frustrated at this new revelation. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Advertisement

MandyB13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 04:58 PM   #2
DIY'er

Rewards Points: 1,000

Advice needed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MandyB13 View Post
Hello,