Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-03-2012, 08:40 PM   #1

Share |

Young people and jobs

Where I work I know 6 college grads that are working in unrelated fields to the degree they acquired. Why ? They just need a job and cannot find a job with their degree. (someone is not teaching these kids how to get educated to actually make a living maybe ? ) ..

When I got out of high school in 1970 when the dinosaurs still roamed the earth, it was no problem for any of us graudates back then to get a job. I graduated on friday night and went to work two days later as there were factory/construction jobs a plenty. Now in 2012 we have too many people and not enough jobs to go around..

The USA manufacturing base has been diminished and the immigrants from south of the border are taking the manual labor/construction jobs. What are the youngsters that dont have a college degree (and even some with a degree) supposed to do for a living these days ?...

I can see why so many of the youth nowadays are just angry. What was that old country song, " Dont leave a working man, with no place to go "..

It doesnt look well for the young people today (or any other age really) in the job market, its no wonder they want us old farts to die off and leave a job opening........
Jeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 09:41 PM   #2
Pro Slate Roofer

Young people and jobs

You just haven't been paying attention. Every one I met has gotten their degree in management. Every one expects to spend 6 months or less in a mid-management position, then move into Vp position and within one year, be Pres of the company.
Construction, mechanic, nor mail room clerk fit into their plans. That's one reason we have so many jacklegs and SOB's doing so called labor work.