"what Does That Button Do?" - Off Topic - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > The Break Room > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-06-2009, 06:19 PM   #1
Wire Chewer

Rewards Points: 2,020

"what does that button do?"

Ever been faced with this thought on the job? I've been working for a few months now at one of our major customers (Hospital) and in the server room there is this plate with a black button on it. There is zero writing on it, but the plaster job around it is very shoddy and it looks like it was added at some point, and not there from the start.

There's also this switch, this makes me laugh, it says "fire hazard, do not turn on". That one is a little, scary, to say the least.

When they installed our UPS there were 2 big panels installed in the office with a single button on it that says "horn". Kinda an odd name. It really made us wonder what it did but we were too chicken to press it. One day someone sits a box on top of the cabinet below the boxes and it happens to hold the button down, then it beeps frantically and all the lights turn on. Turns out it's a test button to make sure all the leds work.

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 01:45 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus

Rewards Points: 1,060

I've wired a bunch of server rooms, mystery buttons are usually one of two things.

1) Every server room is required to have an emergency power off of some sort. This is because there is a UPS somewhere, and if the building power is shut off in an emergency, the UPS will still supply power to the server room.