Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2009, 09:31 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Share |
Default

Verizon's fiberglass cable and internet input?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gma2rjc View Post
In the fall, my husband called DirecTV to cancel some of our package and I'm not sure if he mentioned switching to DishNetwork, but they cut our monthly cost down to where it would be without the extra channels we were going to drop...but they let us keep those channels.

He also called the company that picks up our trash and told them he's going to switch to another company (their rates were going up too high). To keep us as a customer, they lowered the rate down to their competitors rate and gave us one billing period of free service.

I think it would be worth it for you to call Verizon and ask. It sure can't hurt.

It's too bad this type of thing wouldn't work at the grocery store or gas stations.

Yes, I agree. I have nothing to loose by asking. The only thing is if I should request to speak to a supervisor since I believe the regular sales rep might not be in a position to make any of those decisions.

gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 03:31 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,103
Default

Verizon's fiberglass cable and internet input?


With a company as big as Verizon, I think you could just talk to a customer rep. They probably have people calling every day who need to lower their bill, so they know in advance how far they can go to please the customer to keep your business. The nice thing is, they have so many customer reps that if the first one says he can't help, you can call them back and talk to a different rep.

That sounds silly, but when I had engine trouble with my van last summer, my mechanic said my warranty company refused to pay for the repairs. I called that company several times, and while I won't go into all the details (lucky for you), I had to speak to several of their reps before I found someone who would listen to the facts. The mechanic sent her all the proof she needed and she agreed that they would cover the repairs.
gma2rjc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 05:59 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Default

Verizon's fiberglass cable and internet input?


Ok, I gave it a try with Verizon FIOS. I requested the internet and cable services with two HD boxes, this was adding up to $99/month. It was expensive as it is from my point of view. The tech comes to my house and tells me he only has one box and one DVR. I told him I had ordered two regular HD boxes and that is what I wanted. Well, he simply said they did not have any. I said, ok then just install one box. Which he did. Once he was done I could not even switch the channel with the remote. The technician claims some sort of interfireance from the Panasonic plasma TV with the FIOS box receiver. I had to keep the box (receiver) six feet away from the TV in order for it to work properly. I was so upset that I asked him to cancel everything and take that box with him. I am very unhappy with verizon's services.

Have any of you experienced anything similar?
gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 06:01 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Default

Verizon's fiberglass cable and internet input?


I will give it a try with Time Warner Cable company now.
gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 07:14 PM   #20
DIYer
 
jpsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 102
Default

Verizon's fiberglass cable and internet input?


That... sucks. My experience with the verizon tech was as good as I could hope for with one of those "we'll be there between 8:00 & 12:00 deals. The tech got everything hooked up well, didn't damage my house when drilling for the fiber line, and seemed to know what he was doing. That's much more than I can say for the Comcast techs who've hooked up my cable over the years. I guess when it comes to these sorts of services from mega-corporations, it's really caveat emptor. None is any better than any other; some merely suck less on given days.
__________________
-Jack
jpsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 09:19 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,103
Default

Verizon's fiberglass cable and internet input?


You're right jp, I've usually had good luck with the tech's that come here to hook things up or fix things, but once in a while you get the guy who just doesn't give a $#!+. Other times you get the guy who's on his first day on the job. I had one of the latter from DirecTV the last time we had trouble with our DVR in the basement. The kid meant well and he truly was trying, but he was here for 5 hours. He 'kinda' fixed it. A week or two later DirecTV sent out 2 different guys and they had it figured out in less than 15 minutes. Whatayagonnado?

Gante, it wouldn't hurt to call Verizon back, tell them what happened and tell them you'll give them one more chance and if they want your business, you need the hook-up and installation free and 3 months of free service. They might work out a deal with you. Although, it's understandable if you just didn't want to deal with them again.
gma2rjc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 09:26 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Verizon's fiberglass cable and internet input?


We will be switching to something lower once our term is up
I think its November, they already reduced our rates
But we really don't need the phone as we use or cells

I like how they sell you high speed, then if you really MAX it out they will throttle your connection down
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 10:09 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,103
Default

Verizon's fiberglass cable and internet input?


I thought I read somewhere here on the forum that AT&T is doing that too. I wonder if there's a way to monitor it, to see if you're getting less while still paying more.

gma2rjc is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow....................internet RichyL PC Repairs & Upgrades 16 10-20-2009 07:57 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.