Trying To Get License .. Possible Roadblock - Off Topic - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > The Break Room > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-07-2010, 12:39 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Trying to get License .. possible roadblock

I have been doing electrical work wiring outdoor signs, installing ceiling fans adding circuits, breakers, plugs, moters, lifts and lights for at least 25 years (on the side for friends and family). I was in the Air Force for 8 years doing highly technical electronics, data acquisition and high voltage installs (this was 20 years ago). I have been doing scientific data acquisition and computer engineering and some electrical work for the past 25 years. I have a bachelor degree in Electrical Engineering.

With all that said I enjoy doing electrical work part time but since I'm older and hopefully smarter I realize the importance of getting things inspected. All the work I do has always been above code.

So now I'm trying to get my license. The current regulations say that I can count my degree as 3 years of experience towards the requirement of having 4 years experiance to get my license. The problem is this extra year. I am not going to quit my day job but I still want to get this license. What are my options ? Any advice ?

Advertisement

satox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 12:46 PM   #2
Electrician

Rewards Points: 500

Wow, that's a shame that an EE degree counts towards experience. Classroom time learning electrical engineering has absolutely nothing to do with practical electrical work. On the job experience should be just that.

BTW, thanks for being a trunkslammer. Maybe if you do get your license you'll see how much of a detriment you've been to us honest, law abiding electrician.

I just had to lay off an apprentice because people like you

Advertisement

Old 08-07-2010, 01:25 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.