Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2013, 07:45 PM   #1
Solutions (handyman)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Posts: 334
Share |
Default

trade limitations


What can a "handyman" do as far as plumbing and/or electrical ... and when should a licensed pro become involved?

Mark Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Default

trade limitations


a handyman should not be doing any work that you need a license to perform.

DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,248
Default

trade limitations


Really depends on your location.
A trip to the building dept. is in order to ask them.
Not going to matter what anyone says on an internet forum, there the ones that can fine you.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 10:41 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,638
Default

trade limitations


joecaption must consider himself a handyman...

not a dang thing without a license unless of course the back woods of Kentucky have no licenses...
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 06:19 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,374
Default

trade limitations


Well from the backwoods of Fla. there are several things that can be done by a handyman without being ripped off by God almighty just because he has a paper that says he can.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 06:56 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,810
Default

trade limitations


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Harvey View Post
What can a "handyman" do as far as plumbing and/or electrical ... and when should a licensed pro become involved?
Best to check with your local authorities.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 11:22 AM   #7
Solutions (handyman)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Posts: 334
Default

trade limitations


To be a little more specific, can a handyman run the wires in a house or other building fron the outlet boxes to the breaker panel but not do the actual connetcion? Or, Replace/repair a water line so long as it doesn't change the initial plumbing integrety. Or, add a pex line for a basement development. I understand drains and vents may be another issue but it's the basic jobs I am curious about.
Mark Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 11:32 AM   #8
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,833
Default

trade limitations


In many places a handyman can do all that. Here, a handyman can do anything out in the county. We have no codes or zoning outside the city limits.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 11:40 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,810
Default

trade limitations


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Harvey View Post
To be a little more specific, can a handyman run the wires in a house or other building fron the outlet boxes to the breaker panel but not do the actual connetcion? Or, Replace/repair a water line so long as it doesn't change the initial plumbing integrety. Or, add a pex line for a basement development. I understand drains and vents may be another issue but it's the basic jobs I am curious about.
Only your local authority can answer those questions correctly. Don't rely on a forum such as ours to know your local codes. or you could end up paying large fines. And for someone else to come out and redo what you did.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Mark Harvey (09-28-2013), rossfingal (09-29-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
felt by trade name or other product instead of felt highdeserthome Roofing/Siding 4 02-06-2012 08:53 PM
dulux trade or johnstones trade? foxyuk Painting 2 01-15-2012 08:02 PM
knowing your limitations Phillysun General DIY Discussions 35 11-30-2010 06:43 AM
Do you guys see a problem with DIY installin' a trade termastat? HVAC_NW HVAC 1 10-07-2010 05:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.