SPEED Channel - Off Topic - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > The Break Room > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2013, 10:20 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,116
Rewards Points: 2,704
Default

SPEED channel


SPEED channel is no more, its been killed off.
that is too bad, i watched it often.

Advertisement

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 11:12 AM   #2
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,517
Rewards Points: 622
Default

SPEED channel


Check out velocity on direct tv 281. Many of the same shows.

Advertisement

__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:27 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

SPEED channel


AT&T Uverse > Direct Tv

I have about 10 of each movie channel such as HBO, Starz, Showtime...ten of each of those.

Yup, Velocity is a good channel. I enjoy Discovery, National Geographic, History2 for the awesome show Modern Marvels and the science channel for How They Make It.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:34 PM   #4
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,831
Rewards Points: 2,498
Default

SPEED channel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
SPEED channel is no more, its been killed off.
that is too bad, i watched it often.
I noticed the Truck Series was being aired on Fox now but didn't know SPEED was gone.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:41 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

SPEED channel


Speed converted to fox sports 1
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:06 PM   #6
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,831
Rewards Points: 2,498
Default

SPEED channel


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Speed converted to fox sports 1
That sucks...The lineup on FS1 tonight is all football.




http://deadspin.com/speed-is-dead-fo...-sa-1158620909
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 12:14 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

SPEED channel


Here in Canada they still call it Speed and the line up so far has been mostly motorsports like before.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 09-04-2013 at 12:17 AM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 06:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Rewards Points: 250
Default

SPEED channel


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Speed converted to fox sports 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikfishron View Post
That sucks...The lineup on FS1 tonight is all football.




http://deadspin.com/speed-is-dead-fo...-sa-1158620909
FS1 sucks. I am not into the crap the show. I really liked Passtime and a couple other shows on Speed. I do have Velocity and it is ok. There are only a few channels I watch out of 200 on my cable package. It would not take much for me to dump the cable and purchase an antenna.
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 06:39 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 851
Rewards Points: 610
Default

SPEED channel


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Here in Canada they still call it Speed and the line up so far has been mostly motorsports like before.
But you will notice that all SPEED original programming has stopped. Any SPEED programming you now see is a re-run. It has been suggested that they have a license in Canada for a Motorsports channel, so until they can change that, it will remain a motorsports channel. I have seen more than enough re-runs of Are You Faster Than A Redneck.
SPS-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:05 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

SPEED channel


I mostly only watch the actual racing, trucks, qualifying, etc.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
kwikfishron (09-05-2013)
Old 09-04-2013, 08:43 PM   #11
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,827
Rewards Points: 2,142
Default

SPEED channel


What really hurt Speed was losing the Formula 1 races to NBC. The audience is big and regular and NBC had the deep pockets. NBC (various channels, NBC NBCSports) and a couple others get different parts as NBC juggles things and also offers replays within 12 hours because of the odd starting times (6:30 to 7:30 CDT for European races, early afternoon for North American and South American races and between 1:00 AM and 3:00 AM for Asian races). Formula 1 races are seen by 1,000,000,000 people for each race.

The " normally dead" early AM race times gives NBC a big audience when there usually nothing at that time.

Dick
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 10:19 PM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

SPEED channel


We get to see them here on TSN live.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:36 AM   #13
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,344
Rewards Points: 524
Default

SPEED channel


Its gone on mine to. I have mediacom

Advertisement

747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing furnace blower motor from a 4 speed to 3 speed Roy Jones HVAC 4 08-08-2012 04:25 AM
2 speed motor continues to run on slow speed Rob Fayette Electrical 2 11-13-2011 06:34 PM
Broan variable speed motor m0t0rgeo Electrical 1 09-22-2011 02:58 PM
changing speed of grinder MeanGene Electrical 2 03-19-2011 10:53 AM
How to install resilient channel on ceiling Bcoleman6 Building & Construction 1 08-22-2008 03:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts