Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-29-2008, 12:35 PM   #1
Fixer-'til-broker

Share |

Property value assessment?

I'm a total NEWB, first-time homebuyer and I keep getting the feeling I got hosed when, in fact, I just don't understand.

I got a letter with an assessment of my property value. Ever since I moved in I've been getting junk mail trying to sell what I already paid for, but this looks legit from the county office. The only problem is it's about $100k lower than the appraisal for both 2008 and 2009. Do they have the right property? Are they including the house? Are they NUTS?!

I can't even find out who I'm supposed to be talking to about this. Persistance never fails, but never say never. I've got all my paperwork in-line and I'm ready to appeal, but not sure if I should "go off half cocked."

Old 02-29-2008, 01:10 PM   #2

An assessment is not an appraisal.

LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 04:33 PM   #3
Fixer-'til-broker

Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnGuyLandSparky View Post
An assessment is not an appraisal.
True, smart guy.
Old 02-29-2008, 06:37 PM   #4
Master General ReEngineer

Ayuh,.....

A Low assessment is a Good Thing........
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 07:52 PM   #5

You should really argue it to the county. You should demand they raise your assessment so you can pay higher taxes.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 03:18 AM   #6
Fixer-'til-broker

Right, thanks!

I really wanna know where they get these numbers, though. I've talked to a few people in my area and at work and theirs are more screwy than mine between years too.

Go ahead - give the new guy a hard time.
Old 03-01-2008, 03:40 AM   #7
nap
You talking to me?

many states have two items on a tax statement

assessed value: this is what the property is valued on the fair and open market (or at least supposed to be)