Oils And Water - Off Topic - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > The Break Room > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-27-2010, 07:23 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

Oils and water

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjordan393
Thanks all,
The oil pumper serviceman was here today while I was working in the rear of the house and my sister answered the door. So I did not realize he was here until after he was gone. I wanted to ask him if the company had follow up visits to further check the tank to make sure water is from condensation and not a leak from the outside.

I am a retired firefighter and appreciate the answers but the suggestion to boil the water off appears foolish. I'll play it safe and let the pro handle it. This service person left an invoice but there is nothing on it to indicate that followup visits will be performed. If I get the same amount of water next year on a 275 gallon in ground tank, I'll ask about reasonable amounts of water condensation.
Actually industries use that method of boiling off hundreds of gallons of water alk the time. Foolish no, practical very. They call them evaporators and as a retired fire fighter you probaly haven't beem to many of those fires, they don't happen. Also legal.

Could you buy a new tank and put it elsewhere.

You seemed to be worried about doing it right, get rid of the inground. Those aren't legal any more and pose an environmental hazard. Though they are grandfathered in. How do you know there is no hole in the tank. Have you had it inspected???

Hydraulic systems use dessicant to control in rush of moisture. We screw them on to the tank breather. I don't know if if they make or recomend them for home oil tanks i am not a oil professional.

Advertisement

Last edited by ianc435; 11-27-2010 at 07:34 AM.
ianc435 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 12:44 PM   #2

Oils and water

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere