Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2009, 07:24 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Share |
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


Well I wasn't aware of this - bought NAV 2008, free upgrade to 2009
I'm used to every AV product I have ever used simply stopping the updates

Nope Norton SHUTS IT OFF when the subscription expires
Unless Norton changes this I've used their product for the last time
In addition their "online" renewal is DOUBLE the cost of buying THE SAME SOFTWARE from other vendors

AND - I just found out if you Renewed IN ADVANCE of your renewal date YOU LOST the remaining time on your subscription
So they have %$#@#!! me over in the past

http://www.geek-news.net/2008/09/sym...n-lawsuit.html

EXTREMELY unethical business practices in my opinion

For now I've installed AVG
Not sure if I will stick with that or go with something else

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 08:41 AM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


www.avast.com

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 09:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 206
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


I just loaded Kaspersky. I found a 3 license deal on ebay, downloaded the software from Kaspersky themselves, and all is good. It was way cheaper than Norton, works better than McAfee, and better than any of the others I have used. YMMV.
TJ_in_IL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 11:40 AM   #4
Oldguy
 
Rehabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calif (the left coast)
Posts: 498
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
I second that. I am really happy with avast.
__________________
If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you're probably right.

ASE certified master auto tech, Retired.
Rehabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 01:14 PM   #5
General Contractor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 534
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
That's the way to go.
ARI001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 05:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,102
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


Yep, Avast is the way to go
gma2rjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 07:27 PM   #7
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,775
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


Norton is one of the least effective there is anyway. Good luck getting it removed. Even with the removal tools that Norton gives it isn't completely gone.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 07:51 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


There is no longer any trace of Norton on my PC
It was actually very easy to remove
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:01 AM   #9
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


I used Norton for years...when it was a fairly new product it wasn't too bad because it wasn't loaded with all kinds of extras. It got fatter and fatter as each new version came out. It's now so bloated with unneeded options that's it is useless as an anti-virus software or firewall.

I tried others since moving away from Symantec products and finally, when I tried Trend Micro, I found the best anti-virus software I had ever used. I currently use "Internet Security Pro". As with all Trend Micro products, one license covers 3 computers.

I highly recommend it. If nothing else try a free trial. I think you'll like it.
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:19 AM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ_in_IL View Post
I just loaded Kaspersky. I found a 3 license deal on ebay, downloaded the software from Kaspersky themselves, and all is good. It was way cheaper than Norton, works better than McAfee, and better than any of the others I have used. YMMV.
If you can afford to pay,
Kaspersky's the way!..... to go.
But Avast! works for free almost as well.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:56 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


New PC came pre-loaded with McAfee for 15 months included in price
I hate that
I'd rather remove it & have the cost of the PC lowered
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 12:51 PM   #12
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,775
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


Norton and MaCafee are both space hogs. It took a dozen steps for a computer guru friend of mine to remove MaCafee. Both MaCafee and Norton hide files all over your computer. Mine is a lot faster now. He uses the free Avast and he builds and repairs computers all the time, he has for years.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 01:23 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: panhandle of Texas
Posts: 180
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


Dave, i think i've run into you on a koi pond forum. if so, PM me and i'll get you hooked up with a linux distro that you'll have running, along with all peripherals in an hour or so. no need to be a techie. a chimp can do it. no more norton, installation disks, no more spending cash. it is required to remain free.

just the other day i helped a friend setup a new laptop with win7. it is all about cash. trapping the user into a never ending life of hell. like the medical industry. give you a little of this and you'll need some of that. then some more of this. and hell, i say we pull our troops out of iraq and afganistan and bomb the ever-livin' sh*t out of the customer/technical service facilities in india. make ashtrays of those "help centers!"

go to linuxmint.com. download whatever version you want onto your desktop. convert to an iso image. burn to a cd. restart computer with cd in drive and keep tapping "boot manager." <F12> probably. Boot from cd.

the live CD comes up and you install that to HDD. leave your M$ winders on it by manually choosing how much space you'll give those *ssholes.

in lower right you'll see an open lock. keep clicking on it and let it take its course updating the OS (operating system). then go to Menu > adminstration > hardware drivers. see if you need to update any drivers.

the OS should find most of your peripherals and you won't need to install them like in M$. you're up and running and in about a month, you'll wonder why people use M$. anything requiring M$ is easily remedied.

if you need help, don't call the j*ck*sses in india. get on the IRC. /server irc.spotchat.org & then /join #linuxmint-help.

part of the reason few viruses affect linux computers is that the virus writers would be attacking themselves. and also, many viruses are written by companies like Norton.
rosco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:54 AM   #14
uva uvam videndo variafit
 
WirelessG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: W by God VA (bye MS )
Posts: 558
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


I had Norton for a few years too and I switched to Avast free ed. I much prefer it. You can also install Malwarebytes (free ed) if you want to scan your HD from time to time. It's a very good program.
WirelessG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 04:38 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Default

Norton Antivirus shuts off if not renewed


I use avast as well, never had a problem,, my sister had avast and still picked-up that anti virus GT.. I also use firefox, and with their security checks for web sites, I think it makes a big difference. It maybe somewhat silly, but I'm in the habit of typing a web site into the google search box, the page comes up with firefox's circle of trust emblems. I only do green sites.

__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Furnace Shuts off and doesn't turn back on jamesd HVAC 6 03-22-2009 06:45 PM
Is it normal for a Heat Boiler shuts off and on? gforce HVAC 1 11-12-2007 10:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.