Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-19-2012, 08:38 AM   #1

Share |
Question

Need advice on things my contractor is charging back

Hello DIY forum,

I'm new to hiring a contractor and I was wondering if anyone could help with a few issues I'm having during the reno of our home.

We hired someone based on what I though was a fixed price to complete a reno of our house but i'm being asked to cover the following added costs on top of the amount being paid to the contractor.

1. We provided all the tile and hardwood flooring for the project but our contractor made me pay for the mortar, grout, scratch coat, etc. stating that that is typical and that he doesn't pay for any materials. It was made quite clear that we would be responsible for the hardwood and tile, but is it understood that we have to cover the required materials to install as well?

2. The contractor chose to tear up the ceiling of the basement in order to run wiring and plumbing and to avoid having to replace the sub-floor throughout the house. Am I on the hook to pay to replace ceiling panels since he made the judgement call?

3. The contractor has changed the design from the original plan along the way which we have asked him to correct but we're told that any changes are added cost to us. Is this the case, do I have to pay to have him re-do work that we don't feel is adequate based on the original design?

4. So far, I have paid for the dumpster removal and disposal several times which I strongly feel should not be my respoinsibility. Am I wrong? Is it reasonable if I withhold these costs from the contractor's final payment?

If any details are missing please advise and i'll try to clarify.

I appreciate any experienced feedback on this from the DIY community.

Thanks,