Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > The Break Room > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2010, 08:10 PM   #16
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How does electricity meter calculate kwh?


do you have an electronic or electromechanical meter? If electronic, does it give you PF readings?

and you can add a contactor along with the var correction cap so the cap is not in circuit unless the heat pump is running. Not a lot more complex.


Last edited by nap; 09-05-2010 at 08:20 PM.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 10:27 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How does electricity meter calculate kwh?


I just have digital multimeter. I guess it's not quite relevant. I think I need to buy one. Any suggestion?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
do you have an electronic or electromechanical meter? If electronic, does it give you PF readings?

and you can add a contactor along with the var correction cap so the cap is not in circuit unless the heat pump is running. Not a lot more complex.
deerhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 10:53 PM   #18
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How does electricity meter calculate kwh?


Quote:
Originally Posted by deerhunter View Post
I just have digital multimeter. I guess it's not quite relevant. I think I need to buy one. Any suggestion?

I meant the meter on your house.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 08:26 AM   #19
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How does electricity meter calculate kwh?


How do you know that your heat pump isn't designed and built with the correction already installed? As I mentioned before, this is one step that is taken to increase the SEER.

I'm sure you've read through this on Wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_factor

Importance of power factor in distribution systems

The significance of power factor lies in the fact that utility companies supply customers with volt-amperes, but bill them for watts. Power factors below 1.0 require a utility to generate more than the minimum volt-amperes necessary to supply the real power (watts). This increases generation and transmission costs. For example, if the load power factor were as low as 0.7, the apparent power would be 1.4 times the real power used by the load. Line current in the circuit would also be 1.4 times the current required at 1.0 power factor, so the losses in the circuit would be doubled (since they are proportional to the square of the current). Alternatively all components of the system such as generators, conductors, transformers, and switchgear would be increased in size (and cost) to carry the extra current.
Utilities typically charge additional costs to customers who have a power factor below some limit, which is typically 0.9 to 0.95. Engineers are often interested in the power factor of a load as one of the factors that affect the efficiency of power transmission.
With the rising cost of energy and concerns over the efficient delivery of power, active PFC has become more common in consumer electronics.[16] Current Energy Star guidelines for computers (ENERGY STARŪ Program Requirements for Computers Version 5.0) call for a power factor of ≥ 0.9 at 100% of rated output in the PC's power supply. According to a white paper authored by Intel and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency‎, PCs with internal power supplies will require the use of active power factor correction to meet the ENERGY STARŪ 5.0 Program Requirements for Computers.[17]

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to connect from meter to 3 loads. ahill Electrical 2 07-28-2010 12:27 AM
HELP - wiring a 4 gang switch panel Tim_ Electrical 31 01-14-2010 05:27 PM
Tiny elbows on meter? pcampbell HVAC 24 10-06-2009 09:54 AM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 06:53 AM
Frozen water meter stubborn1 Plumbing 5 01-26-2009 06:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.