Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2012, 11:05 AM   #301
Member
 
creeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: As always..beside myself.
Posts: 4,226
Share |
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


I get the feeling that Mike is not in the least confused

creeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:08 AM   #302
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,657
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post


I'm loving it!!
Ha, ha, ha!!!!
He's "loving it" - now!!
Just wait!!
Ha, ha, ha!!!!
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:11 AM   #303
Member
 
creeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: As always..beside myself.
Posts: 4,226
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


Quote:
Originally Posted by rossfingal View Post
Ha, ha, ha!!!!
He's "loving it" - now!!
Just wait!!
Ha, ha, ha!!!!
Just wait good or just wait bad ??

I may be a creeper, but I'm not a stalker
creeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:11 AM   #304
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


*sigh* some guys have all the luck....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:21 AM   #305
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,657
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


Quote:
Originally Posted by creeper View Post
Just wait good or just wait bad ??

I may be a creeper, but I'm not a stalker
I'm usually, always, kidding, around!!
Asking "Jim", questions about his computer - is not "kidding around"!
Giving people "appelations", of "respect", and "regard" - is not "kidding"!

rossfingal

(I think, "oh'mike" knows I'm a "clown"!)

Last edited by rossfingal; 02-15-2012 at 11:26 AM.
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:38 AM   #306
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,176
Blog Entries: 1
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


Quote:
Originally Posted by rossfingal View Post
Jim -
"tough to anyone"!?!
You come across to me as : a, "crusty", "curmudgeon", "ole", "wood-butcher"!
(I could be wrong, though!!!)

"Self-rising flour" doesn't do the same as baking soda/powder!

You're running "XP - Pro".
Service Pack 3?
(I hope!!!)
Got all the "updates", "patches", installed?
Are you using the "Firewall" - that "ships" with "XP"?
Is it "enabled"?
What "Anti-Virus", are you running?
What "Anti-Malware", are you running?
?????

rossfingal
Buddy, you got me pegged to a tee, (I think that is the terminology), I am meaner than a junk yard dog.

On the PC yes to all. I am running Avast anti-Virus and no Anti-Malware

I think my problems started when I downloaded a newer version of Advanced Systemcare 5. I deleted it this morning and it wouldn't let me delete some of it so I renamed the file, so now it can't read the file to interfere with anything. I love it when the idiots won't let you delete their file. Another thing I found out this morning is, never let a cleaner do anything to your registry. I read that while looking at CCleaner, I don't have a cleaner now as most times you can do all a cleaner does manually.

Another thing is I have Yahoo as my home page and that son of a gun wants to load all kinds of movie ads on there. I would hate to see how slow it is with dial up now. I will see how my PC does now and if I still have problems I will let you know. I really do appreciate you Ross, thanks.

Oh, on the self rising flour, I thought that may have something to do with it. It just don't have that good mellow taste. Now this is you will love, I found out another thing ya don't want to do, you don't try to save banana nut bread in a food saver, smashed that sucker flatter than a flitter. I opened it back up real quick but it still didn't spring back like it was. Oh well, live and learn.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:43 AM   #307
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,176
Blog Entries: 1
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


Quote:
Originally Posted by creeper View Post
My stars Jim...close your eyes when you are reading this, I'm being very naughty
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 02:14 PM   #308
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,657
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


"Jim"
(I'm pressed for time, at the moment)
"cleanup" is good -
However! -
DO NOT let it "optimize"/fix your "Registry"!!!!!!
Tutorial at "bleepingcomputer" - read it!

Don't use ANY thing that purports to "clean/optimize" your
"Registry"!!!

rossfingal

Sorry, Jim I got the cleaning program wrong - it's "cleanup"; not, "CCleaner"!!
"CCleaner" is good -
However, if used incorrectly - it can play "havoc" with registry!

Last edited by rossfingal; 02-16-2012 at 07:20 AM.
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 07:59 AM   #309
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,657
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


Jim -
Avast is a good anti-virus program!

"Anti-malware/spyware" -
"MBAM" - (Malwarebytes, Anti-Malware)
"SAS" - (Super, Anti-Spyware)
Both good - the free versions work well!

If you're using the "firewall", that comes with "XP" -
Consider switching to a free firewall.
A problem with the "XP" firewall, seems to be that it doesn't do enough to
control "Out-Bound" traffic.
I'm using "Agnitum, Outpost" (free version)
Seems to work well.
Do not, run two firewalls at the same time!!!

rossfingal

Also - if you're using "IE"
Install Mozilla, Firefox - it's free!
You can have both on your computer!

Last edited by rossfingal; 02-16-2012 at 08:02 AM.
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 03:53 PM   #310
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,176
Blog Entries: 1
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


Quote:
Originally Posted by rossfingal View Post
Jim -
Avast is a good anti-virus program!

"Anti-malware/spyware" -
"MBAM" - (Malwarebytes, Anti-Malware)
"SAS" - (Super, Anti-Spyware)
Both good - the free versions work well!

If you're using the "firewall", that comes with "XP" -
Consider switching to a free firewall.
A problem with the "XP" firewall, seems to be that it doesn't do enough to
control "Out-Bound" traffic.
I'm using "Agnitum, Outpost" (free version)
Seems to work well.
Do not, run two firewalls at the same time!!!

rossfingal

Also - if you're using "IE"
Install Mozilla, Firefox - it's free!
You can have both on your computer!
Man, these blame computers. I read this message this morning and downloaded the "Outpost" but it would never let me register it, also for some reason my PC slowed down more so I blew it off and turned XP firewall back on. I have been trying everything under the Sun and am at the point now of either trying to format another hard drive that I have and reinstall XP Pro or just buying a bigger hard drive and more RAM and doing a clean install. I tried to install the other hard drive but could never get it to boot on the install disk. I tried in safe mode and no go.

One thing is I kept getting a message about the different drives. I tried the jumper in just about every position there is. Should it be in slave, cable or master. I think it is in master right now. I am fixing to take the hard drive out and give it a try. I will check back on Judy's PC later.

By the way Ross, if you are pressed for time don't worry about this stuff, I will get it but two heads are much better than one especially when one knows what he is doing and that sure ain't me.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 05:31 PM   #311
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,657
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


Jim
Not knowing what your particular computer is -
If you install a new hard-drive: you might have to go into the "BIOS" -
and get it to recognize the new drive.
Run "auto-detect", when you're in the "Bios".
Also, in the "BIOS" you may have anti-virus turned on - you might have to turn that off -
If it's turned on, the "BIOS" doesn't like any attempts at changes!

rossfingal
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 09:56 PM   #312
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,176
Blog Entries: 1
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


Quote:
Originally Posted by rossfingal View Post
Jim
Not knowing what your particular computer is -
If you install a new hard-drive: you might have to go into the "BIOS" -
and get it to recognize the new drive.
Run "auto-detect", when you're in the "Bios".
Also, in the "BIOS" you may have anti-virus turned on - you might have to turn that off -
If it's turned on, the "BIOS" doesn't like any attempts at changes!

rossfingal
That was interesting, I finally got the other hard drive in and what a difference. I had to reformat it and baby the dickens out of the install. It seemed like it would hang and not load a file so I had to take the install disk out and turn it counter clockwise about 1/4 turn shove it back in and it would go on until the next time.

Ross, I really don't know what kind of PC I have, it is made from just about everything you can think of. The hard drive is an IDE. I still want to install the old hard drive back in and use as a slave. What would I set the jumper on "slave" or what? I have a ton of programs and documents I need to get off of it. I will go back and install some of the programs you recommended here. Thanks again.

You are right, I had to go in and set the BIOS to boot from a CD. I appreciate you buddy. I got to put all the guts back in now, they are just hanging out everywhere.

Now I can get back to recipes, man Maw fixed some of the best fried pork chops tonight, I think my eyes rolled back in my head.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:13 PM   #313
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,136
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


I'm glad you're making progress on your computer Jim. They sure can be frustrating! Mine has been doing strange things lately and I'm hoping it's not getting ready to go haywire on me.

Pork chops? Hmmm. Well, there's one person here who would love to know how Judy fixes them, if she doesn't mind sharing her recipe that is. Mine are hit-and-miss. Sometimes they turn out alright and other times they're just too dry.

Has anyone ever heard of screpples (sp?). My sister used to make them with left over roast beef and left over pork roast. I know she said she mixed some flour in with the meat, but I can't remember any of the other ingredients or directions.

Barb
__________________

gma2rjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 07:43 AM   #314
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,657
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


"Barb"

I've heard of "screpples" - "scrapples" (Yeah, spelling?)
It might have had apples in it?!?
I'm not sure!


rossfingal

Last edited by rossfingal; 02-17-2012 at 08:28 AM.
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rossfingal For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (02-17-2012)
Old 02-17-2012, 08:08 AM   #315
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,657
Default

"DIY" - cooking/baking - story


Jim

Some computers are not configured to do "cable select".
Mine has problems with it.

You should have a Primary Drive channel - and -
a Secondary Drive channel.
With "IDE" drives -
It's good to have your CD/DVD drive set as the "Master" on the
Secondary channel.
Your "boot" drive, probably should be set as the "Master",
on the Primary channel.
If you're going to add another drive -
set it as the "slave", on the Primary channel.

As regards the "cabling" - (if "cable-select" will not work) -
Your "IDE" cable will probably have two connectors.
Your "master" drive should, probably be on the last connector -
(farthest, from the "motherboard".

If you do slave the other drive -
From what you say concerning your problem, with your disk -
while doing an installation.
If you have room on the "slave" disk -
copy the "I386" folder, from your install disk
to a folder on the "slave disk.
Name it I386.
(I usually copy the whole, contents of the installation disk)

That way if you have to do a re-install/repair....
You don't need the installation disk.

When you "slave" the drive, into the computer -
remember to enter the "BIOS", and make sure it recognizes it.
Also, Disk Manager.
The "drive-letter" for your CD/DVD drive will change.

You don't know what kind of computer you have!?!?
What?!?!
I know exactly what kind of "puter" I have!!
"Hacked", together by "Rossi"!
(He, he, he!)

"Guts hanging out"!!!!
You should see my computer and living room!!!!

MMMMMMMMMM!!!!!
Pork Chops!!!!!

rossfingal

(MBAM!!)

Remember - support "Search and Rescue" - rescue somebody!!


Last edited by rossfingal; 02-17-2012 at 08:15 AM.
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"DIY" - a Story rossfingal Off Topic 24 12-20-2011 07:15 AM
A story DangerMouse Off Topic 17 12-19-2011 12:46 PM
2 story, 3 story, or a basement? reveriereptile Building & Construction 13 10-10-2011 05:30 PM
convert 1 1/2 story to full two? BlueBSH Building & Construction 4 05-03-2010 07:20 AM
2nd story bathroom, drain &vent, please help!!! serik Plumbing 4 07-15-2009 07:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.