Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > The Break Room > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2009, 10:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


Hmmmm....I just saw on another site where someone decorated their SUV while it was parked in the driveway
I have a 350w power inverter for the truck
I may see how it works with some LED rope light...that way I can drive around w/decorations

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 10:20 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Hmmmm....I just saw on another site where someone decorated their SUV while it was parked in the driveway
I have a 350w power inverter for the truck
I may see how it works with some LED rope light

you would want to do some calculations before starting such an endeavor. LED's don't use a lot of power by themselves but depending on how the strings are designed, they could have included waste (resistors) to limit the voltage to the LED's rather than designing them to be truly power efficient. If so, they actually do not use less power as a whole, just the led's themselves consume less power than a comparable incandescent lamp.


Have you looked into an electroluminescent wire (EL wire). It's not cheap but you can do some really neat stuff with it. It would be great for writing in light and being able to flash it on and off as desired.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 08:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


Not much getting accomplished
Cold weather is here, so not much to update as far as pics until Spring & I can start siding again

The sub-panel is installed in the Great Room
So I will spend the winter running electric
I have Temp power run to an outlet for stereo & lights
The attic has (4) 20a circuits for Christmas decorations for the roof
That should cover it.............I hope....

The next 2 weeks will be spent setting up my Christmas Display
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 12:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


Great! I'll keep watching for them.

Being in an Apartment right now, the photo below is the only hope of Christmas decorating for me. Boy I do miss it.
Sheila4467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 11:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


Hmmmmm.........I was wondering how many circuits I have right now

(4) from the pool cabana sub-panel
(1) off the deck
(1) on the East side of the house
(4) on the front of the house (2 of these buried out into the front garden)
(1) on the side of house in front
(2) for the roof
(3) for the inside - some one timers, trying for an outlet near each window
(1) off the garage
*******************
That's 17 right now

To be added:
(1) more on the front of the house
(2) more out of the garage
(1) more once the new deck/balcony is built on the West side of the house

So I guess I'll be over 20 maybe next year
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 11:14 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


why don't you just run a 100 amp 3R panel outside somewhere convenient?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 11:29 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


There isn't anywhere really convienent & I don't want a panel outside
During heavy rain a circuit kicks out every now & then
I much prefer resetting them from the nice dry house

It's about 65' from one end of the house to the other, over 130' of yard
And about 100' from the front edge of the display to the back
And then the roof is now 3 stories up on the addition
So the goal is just to distribute outlets all around & reduce extension cord use

A dedicated sub panel would be nice, but it would mean a lot more 12-2 to get to all the locations
Plus the power draw would be all from one sub
While its not that much - 80a @120v was the highest measured....I prefer it spread out
And the pool cabana is detached & already has a sub...so I can't really feed the outlets there from another sub
And in the summer they are used for the pool area, fridge, lights etc
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 12:58 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Lightbulb

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


Well the Santa Face fits in the cupola window
I have 4 windows
So only 1 in the front ?
Or 1 in each Window ?

The one in the front you would only be able to see in front of the house
With one in each window you will see them driving either way on the street



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 06:42 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


Well I put one in the North side - faces the street
Then I put a 2nd one in the window facing East - you can see it driving down the street

South side faces the backyard - only 1 neighbor might be able to see it
You would not be able to see what it is from the street behind me
And the West side you don't really see unless you live on our dead-end street

So looks like 2 will do it

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 06:48 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


I put 2 Santa's in the cupola for Christmas
One faces the street, other faces East & you can see it as you drive down the street

I was going to run an outlet up there & switch/socket for a light
But that can wait
I have an extension cord coming down that will plug into an outlet in the attic
This is wired to a 40a timer that can turn (2) 20a circuits on & off
I've wired an outlet near the (3) front windows in the great room into the same timer
Another outlet on the new balcony (to be built) will be tied into the same timer
I'll be adding some other outlets on the timer in other windows in the house
This way everything goes on & off automatically
This is my 4th timer to be connected
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 07:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


I needed the laugh this one gave me! and I love it! Santa looks Great!

Extra Christmas light hook-ups, and timers. I can't believe I didn't make that a top priority on my list.

Even though it's for my Garage, I will be using it all the time, so this is a perfect reminder.

THANK YOU, I would have been crushed if I had left those things off my list.

How big is that Santa? It looks wonderful!
Sheila4467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 07:41 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


Santa's about 3' tall, I think around 25" wide
Any taller & he would not have fit too good
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 05:46 AM   #13
paper hanger and painter
 
chrisn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 6,842
Rewards Points: 2,192
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


so you really did not need our input anyway, right
chrisn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 09:58 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheila4467 View Post
Extra Christmas light hook-ups, and timers. I can't believe I didn't make that a top priority on my list.

Even though it's for my Garage, I will be using it all the time, so this is a perfect reminder.

THANK YOU, I would have been crushed if I had left those things off my list.
Yup - timers are great
So nice to have things go on & off automatically
I'm actually going to run wire to existing outlets & split the receptacle
So 1/2 will be constant power, 1/2 will be on the timer
There are some area's where it just wouldn't look good to add an outlet
And I need constant power for other devices
I do not normally like split receptacles....but we don't plan on moving
So I might as well wire it the way I want

Thanks roadhouse....it's been a long 5 years working on this house
Very much looking forward to finishing a lot of next year
It will be nice to finish residing the house next year & have it looking good
Still have a kitchen renovation to do...and finish inside the great room
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 11:14 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Christmas Display - Ongoing but here's a Start


I've tested that fact with Christmas lights
I've run a 20a circuit at just under 2400w for about 5-6 hours without a problem (cold here tho)
In a warmer area the wire may heat up more & then trip sooner

I've also hooked up OVER 2400w & had it work (2625w)
Sitting back at the PC adding up the wattages I realized my error
I looked out & sure enough it had tripped after I walked back inside

I usually think that having my Christmas lights on for 5-6 hours every nite should be considered continous
Usually I limit a 20a run to under 2000 watts, but have run at up to 2200w
New SF, panel, wire, outlets...everything

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue smoke at start up, and shudder at idle fauer Automotive Repairs 6 08-22-2008 12:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.