Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > The Break Room > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-01-2011, 09:59 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Buying a School

hey guys, im new to this so hello there! my name is luke and i am in the market for a new house. i recently have been told about a school that is going up for sale in the next month. it is an old grade school. classrooms, cafeteria and gym. the whole nine yards. i really like the idea of turning this school into my house. i was told i could probably get it for a decent price but i have no idea on taxes and utility costs. i will find these things out later on. but if everything checks out should i go for it? what things should i take into consideration? i can only picture the greatest house on earth so i need you guys to either help me continue pictureing the greatest house by giving my idea for layout and such but also i need those to bring me back to reality. any help would be appreciated. in other words.. i kinda just want to know what you guys think about me buying a school to live in and if it's worth it or not.

luke_501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 10:15 PM   #2
Wire Chewer

Rewards Points: 2,020

Buying a School

That would be kind of neat, provided you have lot of money and time for repairs/customizations and what not. It would actually be a very fun undertaking, but the reality of things is you have to work to make money so that leaves very little time for play.

One option is to maybe convert it into some apartments, so you could actually make money off it, perhaps even live off said money, giving you more time to work on it. The thought of having a gym, and cafeteria, is kinda cool. You could even have gym equipment like basketballs and what not, and rent it out.