Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > The Break Room > Off Topic

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-04-2009, 11:11 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Advice, please

I have begun demo on a bathroom. I have little experience with home improvement, but I'm willing to learn more, and I have basic knowlege (very very basic). It is 1/2 bath and I want to add a shower.

The room is about 4.5'x6' (guessing, I don't remember measurements).

Is there anyone willing to advise me as to what projects are worth doing myself and which are just not worth it for the headache?
I will pay a plumber to get the lines in....after that, is it better to pay someone else to do it if I have no experience, such as installing a shower and laying tile?

About me:
Single mother of 4 kids.
Semi-helpful husband (moved out over a year ago, but we get along ok and the condo is half his, so I can get help if I have a plan...he just doesn't want to be thinking too much about it)
Smart, handy, willing to learn, creative, strong, don't mind getting dirty or suffer minor cuts and scrapes.
Painting experience
some experience with small power tools.
I have time to spend on the project now; I work evenings only, so my weekdays are semi-open as long as I work around the kids
I have 13 year old boy and 10 year old girl who can help a little
I have a few friends who can serve as extra pair of hands.
I have friend/acquaintance who is a contractor and will hook me up with his guys who are not getting enough hours and I can pay them directly, no contract with his company (just a favor he's doing for me)
Same friend will tell me where to find tile with the best service and good prices to help me with the layout and offer ideas and solutions.
Money is a huge factor in this.