Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Introductions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-17-2011, 05:13 AM   #1

Share |

Yep, I'm here... don't say I didn't warn you

Hi

I'm an artist by trade (or is it by life?) but recently realized that I have wasted so many years I could have been making things I needed or just wanted. So I came online and found this place now that I have some projects I want to fearlessly tackle. I hope I can get some good info, and maybe share something myself.

Some things I will be building (or attempting to) in the coming weeks and months:

Hydroponic deep water culture systems for rooting cuttings (cloning) and growing vegetables and herbs (the kind we eat, not smoke) in a confined area for indoor, year-round gardening. If I can get through one crop I'd love to try more advanced systems with aeroponics, NFT, and flood an drain systems.

Light Fixtures for growing the plants. Starting with CFL reflector fixture and may end up with metal halide and HPS eventually depending on $$ of running and setting up.

USB or WiFi driven monitoring/data logging system for ambient environmental conditions (temp, humidity), water quality (ph, ppm, temp, etc). This will be for a few rooms in the house as well as the hydro setup. Not sure if I can pull this off but we'll see.

Setting up shelves in my new home office (repurposed from my childhood bed made of pine)

Rain water collection system for watering the veg which eventually I want to add a reverse osmosis system to make my own drinking water.

An art easel. This will require many more tools but I would love to create my own easel and get back into more fine art. Too much digital.

Frames for posters, artwork, photographs, some wood, some plastic.