Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Introductions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-10-2009, 05:37 PM   #1

Share |

Pine problem

Hi there,

I must preface this message by saying that I have never worked with wood before, just trying to learn as I go.

So, I just bought an old pine antique box. I had sanded it down and wanted to finish it in such a way that the wood would still have that beautiful light-straw colour to it. I just finished another wood project and realized that when I applied the finish it darkened the wood significantly. I did not want the beautiful light-coloured pine to darken, so I was recommended tung oil, followed by a wax to finish it (I've bought "Circa 1850" brand tung oil and "Circa 1850" brand "Antique paste finishing wax").

I just applied the first coat of tung oil today and it looks horrible! It has absorbed in a splotchy pattern, and to my dismay it has significantly darkened the wood. I just read that pine is very spongy so it can absorb things differently in different areas, and so using a sealer is recommended before staining or finishing.

My questions are:
Is there a way to reverse the splotchy damage I've done?
Will applying further coats of tung oil fill in the splotches?
If I used a sealer now will it do any good?
Also, if I wanted to use a stain (to try to salvage the darkened colour) is it impossible now that I have applied one coat of tung oil?

Thanks,
Armando

Armando Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 06:37 PM   #2

Pine problem