Newb From PA - Introductions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Introductions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-14-2009, 12:21 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

newb from PA

Representin'!

I'm an undergrad student at a PSU branch campus. I've only recently gotten into DIY, but I never replace anything until I'm absolutely positive that I cannot fix it. The project that led me to find this place is a table to support another hobby: cooking! I need a waist level (I'm average height) table to serve as extra counter space in my modest kitchen. I want to make it out of wood and start with the pieces already cut to size. As far as plans go, I just want something traditional that I can modify if need be. I would greatly appreciate any advice that will help me save time, money, or pitiful failure. Thanks!

Oh! And I'm sure someone's going to sit/stand on this at some point, so I want it to be very sturdy, able to support many hundreds of pounds without a problem.

Advertisement

interrogatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 08:41 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,032

newb from PA

Welcome and greetings! Be safe, Gary

Advertisement

Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 11:47 PM   #3

newb from PA

Hey.
Well since you are at a Univ. you have free access to "Architectural Graphic Standards" at the school, there would be a nice place to start , unless you know exactly what height you want. Then I would start by using your imagination and Drawing your design before you start cutting, Im sure that you are well versed in using computers , so if you want you could use sketchup.google.com or you could draw it free hand with all the dimensions you need.