New To The List. - Introductions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Introductions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-30-2008, 12:21 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 500

New to the list.

I am a recently retired Paramedic which really doesn't give me a lot of experience in DIY projects except for treating those who were not skilled at using power tools or found out that gravity is real and responsible for acceleration when on ladders and roofs.

But I am not without DIY experience.

I have been doing remodeling since I was 12 with my dad and later on as both a hobby and part time job.

I have experience in heavy construction, all aspects of remodeling including electrical (120/240 and low voltage DC, Ethernet, cable, speaker), plumbing (Pex, PVC/CPVC, copper and galvanized and combo systems), window instillation (both new and existing), different types of insulation, structural modifications and span tables, home automation (my homes are run by a computer), alternative energy (I have DIY solar electric, solar hot water, passive solar heating, wind generation and hydronic cooling at my vacation home), HVAC (just installed a high efficiency gas central furnace, gas tankless hot water heater and have worked with my brother in law who owns an HVAC company, I just redid the duct work in my home to increase the volume of air to all my rooms using flow calculations), I am well versed in the tax credits for alternative energy in most states, trim work, door instillation, flooring, skylight instillation (I just put in 4 more last week), and landscaping for energy conservation.

My weak points are concrete work and roofing.

I was a journeyman painter many years ago and know a lot about paint although I run a distant second to my wife in this area.

I hate working on sewers.