Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Introductions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-06-2007, 02:50 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

New guy with some ?'s

Hi. new to this site. I am finishing my basesment. I've already got the drywall up, mudded and sanded. this is my first time to drywall but I have to say it looks really good for a beginer but it's not perfect of course. Please give me some ideas on finishing them to cover the imperfections. I have access to a hopper gun but i'm not comfortable doing knock down, Being a beginer. Someone told me to do orange peel, but will that cover good? Thank you in advance!!

Mark.

Last edited by Whatever; 11-06-2007 at 07:02 PM. Reason: Wow! not everybody at once!! Did a search and found what I was looking for.
Whatever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 07:41 PM   #2
Remodeler

Rewards Points: 250

New guy with some ?'s

A textued finish will hide allot. If you want a smooth finished wall take the time to get the mud right. Sand it smooth and really in thin layers till you get it nice. You have allready done the mud work you said. Also you said it isn;t perfect. Sand it smooth and use a large knife to spread out the mud further. The little imperfections will either sand out or you can fill them with more mud. I hope you taped the joints :-) some DIYers dont.
When the joints and screw holes are nice and smooth prime with drywall primer before painting. If you can't get the joints smooth keep trying. You have done allot of work so make it nice.

One Man Shops
MinConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 08:01 PM   #3

New guy with some ?'s

Thanks for the reply. I did tape the joints and it's preaty smooth. I'm happy with how it is now, I just think it will look better orange peeled. I will prime it when it's dry. Thanks again!

Mark.
Old 11-06-2007, 11:23 PM   #4

New guy with some ?'s