Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Introductions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-22-2011, 07:15 PM   #1

Share |

Joe's entry to DIY - The architect's perspective

Hi I'm relatively new to DIY. So far my experience with responses has been 50-50, some really appreciating my replies, others unusually rude and hostile. I'm from Melbourne, Australia, way down under, and I know how people in the northern hemisphere tend to look down on the "southpaws", but we can take it.

I'm a retired architect, with over 45 years experience and in all sorts of situations, doing private, commercial and government work. I also do a lot of my own handiwork, mainly as a reason to know how other trade people perform and to know if they completed a good job.

I have read many of the posts, and it seems the majority focus on one-off situations requiring a little bit of intuition to kick start a project. There are many experts out there who will provide advice much better than me on how to do things.

What I think I can contribute, is the architect's perspective, that is, good design, compliance with codes, safety of construction, contractural matters and legal implications and dispute resolution. Plus I can usually draw on experience and state actual cases where the project failed or succeeded. Cheers everyone, from the land of OZ (that's Australia, the big land down under, not the Wizard of OZ). Joe

JoJo-Arch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 07:31 PM   #2

Welcome to the site. I have seen many questions on this site seeking the advice of an architect. I'm sure your input will be highly valued here.

Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 07:56 PM   #3

Thank you for the warm welcome. As a newbie, I'm not exactly sure how other people can direct their posts to me if they want an architectural perspective on their problem. Time will resolve this no doubt.