Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Introductions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-05-2009, 08:30 AM   #1
DIYer

Rewards Points: 75

Hello from Pittsburgh

Hello All! After coming across this site time and again when researching various projects, I recently decided to join the forum and have received some great responses to some questions I posted. So I figured I ought to post here to introduce myself. I'm an avid DIYer from Pittsburgh who sits in a cubicle all day and loves to work on my house during the evenings and weekends. I'm also a hobbyist woodworker, though I don't have my own shop; I have to 'rent' time in my father-in-law's shop.

My wife and I closed on our house about a year and a half after graduating from college and twenty days after getting married. Our 'honeymoon' was spent refinishing hardwood and doing what we could to get our 1950 ranch ready to be lived in as it hadn't seen any upgrades... ever. Early on my father-in-law helped a lot with the work we needed to do. But over the past five years I've become a pretty competent DIYer and now do everything I need to do myself. Some things we've done...

* Completely renovated the kitchen. This included removing the floor down to the subfloor, putting in a new one with ceramic, and building oak cabinets in the shop. Before & after:

The walls are actually a dark red now, but don't have a good picture of them handy. I plan to put a tile backsplash using 4" tiles that match the floor this year. Also, we're thinking new countertops might be a good investment as the current ones look cheap.