Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Introductions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-07-2011, 11:59 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Frustrated in Ooltewah, Tennessee

Bought a brand new house nearly two years ago that has turned into the house from hell. Builder put the footers in the water table which has resulted in a swimming pool under my slab and all of the problems that go along with it. Not to mention that the federal government is investigating whether or not the builder encroached on federal lands.

I have been referring to this forum for over a year and thought that I should join. I am a retired mechanical engineer with experience in commercial and industrial construction but, clearly, not residential. I have some pretty good construction knowledge but now and then I just get stumped. I am hoping that this will be a good place to put those puzzlers out there.

I guess for now you would just have to call me a Gullible Grandma.

SavartiTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 12:33 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 4,152

Well that's confusing, is this a slab foundation?
Most slab homes have no real footing. And if this was a stem wall foundation all it needed to be is below the frost line, most often this also would be in or near the water table.
If there's water coming up though the slab it's most often caused from poor grading, no gutters, no french drain.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:22 PM   #3
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 2,438

So...what's the problem?

Wouldn't the builder have needed permits to build and approval from some local government agency to do what he did where he did it? Is this just one house in the middle of no-where?
Old 12-07-2011, 01:22 PM   #4
Ole Wood Worker

Rewards Points: 2,596

Welcome neighbor, we are glad to have you with us. Wow, you do have some concerns, I would also, hopefully we can help you in some way.