Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Community > Introductions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-05-2009, 06:23 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

DIY newbie - Best way to learn

Hello everyone,

I am new to DIY and wanted to know if anyone has some suggestions as to good places to learn the basics. This forum is great but I have noticed when reading posts people refer to terms/tools, etc that I am clueless about and it makes it difficult to absorb the information.

I am motivated to learn anything and everything involving DIY house tasks so I need a good basics place to start.

Any good terms sites or resources out there that you may have encountered along the way?

Also, what do you think is the best way to learn/where to start.

Thanks!

esctave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 06:31 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

What do want to learn ?
Carpentry, electric...?
If you don't know a term use google to look it up
That's what I did when I started working at a Hospital in IT Dept

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 06:41 PM   #3

Yea google would work good if I new terms to look up so I guess I meant to ask a good place with basic terms -

A DIY project I had in mind to do first was laminate floors / ceramic tiles.

I guess the whole DIY world is overwhelming and I want to learn it all at once (unfortunatlety it doesn't work that way) so I was curious as to the best way to start.

Right now I am interested in flooring/tiles
Old 10-05-2009, 07:52 PM   #4
Remodeler

Rewards Points: 250

Having no idea if you have ever run a saw or worked with any tools. It's hard to answer your question. But I will try.
Learning DIY things can and will be both fun and satisfying if you do in face learn and do a good job. Whatever you do you will more than likely have to do over so just prepare yourself. It's called trial and error.