Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Forum Support > Site Feedback and Suggestions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2008, 10:28 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Share |
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Could the site require the user to enter there location (country at a minium) when they sign up? This would be helpful information to have when a new user posts a question.
Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 05:34 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Dave,

Others have mentioned this, and obviously I know in the Internet world not all would be honest, but it would be helpful for those of us who enjoy sharing in this chatroom to at least know where people are coming from?

Anyway you can make at least declaration of what country people are from a required field when people sign up?

Merry Christmas. I am following your Christmas display with great interest. My friend Bob who has the competing house across from you in Seattle is as nuts as you are. I guess donations to the animal rescue thing they set up is working out really well and attendance for the FM broadcast music performance is legendary so far this year.

PhD in music with an opera background? He installs very high end audio and video into the home of Microsoft folk homes, planes, boats, for living these days.

user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 08:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


There are quite a few sites that require location to be filled in
I know its one of the 1st things we ask on threads
Nathan would have to initiate the change
We'll have to bring it up with him

Thanks
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 05:33 PM   #4
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,584
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Sd,
I don't know if you have to make it mandatory. But if we didn't answer anyone's questions until they updated their profile to include some kind of location, I think you'd see them comply. I could care less where someone lives except for the fact that in answering questions, climate has a lot to do with many of the problems. It would certainly help them get a more accurate solution.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 05:52 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Yes, that's why I think it should be in the profile
"State" (or whatever for other countries) & country would work

Basically you make the "Location" field required
They have to put something in there
But you can't really restrict to to a specific text - too many variables
IE someone could enter "Not Tellin'" & that would have to be accepted
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 07:36 AM   #6
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


It would be nice, both country and state/Providence or what other countries use. I think most people would put in the correct location.

There are many questions that are location specific, such as how deep do I have to go for my footings? While such a question should always be answered with check your local building codes to be sure. Some people want a general idea just for a reference.
__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:56 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


I've asked Nathan how easy it is to set this up
Now that the Holidays are over
-Dave
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 12:32 PM   #8
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


I did not mean to harp about it but the basic terminology sometimes seems to be different in say for instance Canada, the UK, New Zealand and so forth. Just seems like it could save some time if we had a basic starting point at times?
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 12:59 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Thumbs up

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post
I did not mean to harp about it but the basic terminology sometimes seems to be different in say for instance Canada, the UK, New Zealand and so forth. Just seems like it could save some time if we had a basic starting point at times?
But Regionality (I hope there is such a word) can be detected by 1) Spelling;2) Terminology; : for example Colour is spelled thusly in Canada and the U.K.; What is a FLAT (tire) in the US is an apartment in the UK. A REAL FLAT is called a PUNCTURE. (Pronounced PUNCHER); Anyway. We're (I don't mean Me and others. Ireally meant, the people that DO) running a DIY show, not a Grammar or Spelling (or a Humor) show.!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 10:13 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Nathan has made the location field Mandatory in Registering, see how it goes

We can't force people to put the correct location in, or country etc
But hopefully this will help
Many sites I just enter "Boston, MA" as my location as the closest big city
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 07:18 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Seems they can leave this blank again
Possibly just by typing in spaces ?...space bar ?
I've seen a few new people with just a blank spot
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 02:14 PM   #12
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Noticing this too. Not sure why anybody would be opposed to plunking in at least basic geographic location or falsifying the information.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 03:36 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Its been turned back off, Registration went down
Appears people do not want to have to enter that info
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 04:45 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Thumbs up

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Its been turned back off, Registration went down
Appears people do not want to have to enter that info
But if someone is so shy, they shouldn't be posting on the internet. Anyway, on a voluntary basis it's perfect!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 05:10 PM   #15
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Default

"Location" should be a requirement when signing up


Note that I don't have a freakin clue how these forum thingys work.

When people start a new thread can the forum check if their location box is completed and if empty, they are reminded that "Your location important in helping others provide you with answers to your question and these answers can vary significantly depending on the region you live. Please provide your state/province and country."

__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVAC vents location pinkertonpv HVAC 3 06-03-2010 04:30 PM
hole for basement bathroom vent location jeeper Building & Construction 4 04-12-2009 11:25 AM
Well Pressure Switch Location dshcs Plumbing 4 02-05-2009 09:04 AM
L/R Drain bath/shower over center drain location in floor? tigerbalm2424 Plumbing 2 12-04-2007 01:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.