Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2010, 04:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 352
Share |
Default

Wire Welder


I have a Hobart Handler 135. As many of you know, when you change to a new roll of .030 wire, about 5 foot of wire is wasted. Seem like there could be a way to attach this wire to the new roll. I have about 15 such scrap pieces that I have saved.
Any ideas??

Giles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 04:51 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Wire Welder


Not worth the trouble. You try to run some scabbed up connection through the liner and you will hate yourself. Just consider it a loss and dump it unless you have some other use for it.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 12:37 PM   #3
uva uvam videndo variafit
 
WirelessG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: W by God VA (bye MS )
Posts: 558
Default

Wire Welder


I agree with Nap. The most you could save is 1 cent and you would need specialized tooling to make it work.
WirelessG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 01:46 PM   #4
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Default

Wire Welder


Use it for tie-wire or put it in the scrap bin. As nap and wirelessG said, if you try to attach it to the new roll and run it through your whip you'll ruin a $15.00 liner to save a 1 cent piece of wire.
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 06:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: anoka county mn
Posts: 293
Default

Wire Welder


cant you just feed the new wire in and let it push out the old piece still making a welding connection ... until it runs out and the new wire starts ?
oldrivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 07:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 352
Default

Wire Welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by oldrivers View Post
cant you just feed the new wire in and let it push out the old piece still making a welding connection ... until it runs out and the new wire starts ?
I thought about that. I am sure the two ends would fuse together and that could create a problem. I just wonder what diameter the lining is. Probably larger then the small wire and they could wedge.
Giles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 11:10 PM   #7
uva uvam videndo variafit
 
WirelessG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: W by God VA (bye MS )
Posts: 558
Default

Wire Welder


Giles - I think that is exactly what would happen.
WirelessG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 03:58 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

Wire Welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by Giles View Post
I have a Hobart Handler 135. As many of you know, when you change to a new roll of .030 wire, about 5 foot of wire is wasted. Seem like there could be a way to attach this wire to the new roll. I have about 15 such scrap pieces that I have saved.
Any ideas??
Donate it to The Garrot Institue of America
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 07:45 PM   #9
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,676
Default

Wire Welder


Will it fit bigger spools of wire, like say a 10#? Going fro 2# to 10# will save you alot more money than a few feet of wire. I think mine may even have a 20#, but I can't remember because it's been so long since I needed wire.
jomama45 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:53 PM   #10
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,670
Default

Wire Welder


Quote:
As many of you know, when you change to a new roll of .030 wire, about 5 foot of wire is wasted.
Ayuh,..... Get yerself a Spool-in Gun....

My Readi-welders Waste about 10" of wire at the end of a spool.....

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire Gauges, Amps and Small Fixtures RedBear Electrical 1 11-06-2010 10:45 AM
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 08:20 AM
HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor Leo Caproni HVAC 5 10-18-2010 01:23 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM
Miller syncrowave 250dx Welder installation saddletramp Electrical 6 01-10-2008 01:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.