Will A 12" CSMS Be Accurate Enough For Int/ext Trim - Tools - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-29-2010, 01:46 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Will a 12" CSMS be accurate enough for int/ext trim

Thank you for this site.

I am a bit new to alot of home DIY projects. My father is an architect, I worked in engineering for decades, so I'll blame that for many of my shortcomings. I work on my classic cars/hotrods so I am familiar with the get what you pay for in tools.

I'm comparing the Bosch 5312, Dewalt DW718, Rigid MS1290 and maybe the Hitachi C12RSH ($150 cheaper)

Will one of the above provide accurate enough cuts for the typical DIY int/ext trim (likely MDF)?

Not going to move the saw around much, maybe from the garage to the patio.

I am forging ahead on a 16x12 dining room addition to our home, hiring out much of the framing. When picking out the sill treatments for the new dining room windows my wonderful wife declared that she wants all new trim throughout the house. I added it up to just under 1000 lineal ft including the kick boards (thankful we don't have a big house)

I have a set of custom stairs (basement to first floor) to tackle to complete the addition.

Additionally I would like to start replacing a few sections of our weathered cheap siding, 11 1/4" lap. Its held up well since the house was built in '61 and I can't afford the $8k - 11k quoted for complete house replacement.

And.... sometime in 2011/2012 will be a craftsman style 14'w x 5'd porch addition - money permitting.

I've looked at a bunch of saws, I own a Milwaukee hand me down circular saw and a Makita sawzall and have used the heck out of both for close to 15 - 20 years but the new Makita 12" was $700 and the Milwaukee was even more.

Thank you for your time and opinions.

Advertisement

Verbal Kint is offline   Reply With Quote