Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-24-2012, 10:18 PM   #1

Share |
Question

why my husky air compressor won't hold air?

Hi everyone, I'm new to this webside, and hope to find some help here.
I have a husky 6 gallon air compressor model #H1506FWH, and it does not fill air above 25PSI, and it doesn't stop running. I am wondering what wrong with it, and how can I fix it? I'm not familiar with this thing.

vatican30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 10:40 PM   #2

Do you have ay leaks? There is a drain at the bottom of the tank, is it completely closed? There is also a pressure relief valve, is that leaking?

packer_rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 10:52 PM   #3

There's no leak, except one, and I don't know it is a leak or what. There is air coming from the pump. It's just like a vacuum machine. When you turn it on and there is air coming out. So I don't know it is a leak or not
vatican30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 06:44 AM   #4

While it's runing, and when it shuts off after running, there should be no air leaking anywhere.
It could be any number of things causing this. Worn piston rings, dirty or broken reed on top of the compresser, line leak to the pressure switch, leaking diapham in the pressure switch, bad check valve.

Something as simple as the flimmsy o ring where the line goes to the pressure switch and into the compressor can be leaking.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 11:58 PM   #5
Household Handyman