Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2013, 09:32 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 424
Rewards Points: 250
Default

What do I need to fix this?


Dryer vent poking out the side of the house. He just cut a round hole, brought the pipe through, then put the hood on, not attached to the house. Worried about rain and bugs getting in...

Without ripping off all the surrounding siding, is there a tool that I could mark out a square area around the hole, cut it nice and square, then slide in a (cut in two halves) piece of squared wood, put some flashing on it, caulk it up nice, etc?

Another sideways picture...don't know what i am doing.
Attached Thumbnails
What do I need to fix this?-photo-4-.jpg  

__________________
Pardon any typos, my IPad has a mind of it's own for spelling corrections!

Last edited by kwikfishron; 11-21-2013 at 05:16 AM. Reason: Rotated picture
dougp23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 02:34 PM   #2
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,922
Rewards Points: 1,006
Default

What do I need to fix this?


They sell siding mounting blocks for that sort of thing. It's a square that's either already got siding notches cut out on the side, or you scribe your own.

wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 02:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,014
Rewards Points: 3,144
Default

What do I need to fix this?


Is that wood or vinyl siding?
http://www.amazon.com/Special-Lite-P...mounting+block
Just have to make sure you buy the right one.
It depends on what the exposure is. There sold in double 4, and double 5.
Going to have to remove what's there to install it.
Just wondering, who did this?
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 06:46 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 424
Rewards Points: 250
Default

What do I need to fix this?


Thanks.

It is wood siding. I wonder how those preformed mounting blocks work. I mean, who's to say if you have 4 inches or 4.5 or 4.7 or any amount of siding exposed per piece? So I presume I may have to scribe my own.
__________________
Pardon any typos, my IPad has a mind of it's own for spelling corrections!
dougp23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 08:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,014
Rewards Points: 3,144
Default

What do I need to fix this?


You need to pull a tape measure out and check it. Not likely it's some odd amount.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.