Tool For Cutting MDF - Tools - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-06-2011, 01:11 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Tool for cutting MDF

I am putting up a chair rail and picture frame moulding on my walls. I am new to the DIY projects, so I am buying the tools I need along the way. I was told to use a miter box, which I got. It was a manual saw and plastic box. It was terrible! By the end, I sawed 3/4 of the way through and then broke it in half. It worked for one, but I will not use it again. I know I need some sort of electric saw. I don't want to spend a lot of money on anything big and complicated since I probably won't use it too much. I was wondering if there was a type of hand-held saw that would work well. Maybe a multi-tool?

Advertisement

MKeeling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 01:53 PM   #2
Civil Engineer

Rewards Points: 2,196

Tool for cutting MDF

The best tool IMO for cutting molding is a sliding bevel miter saw. A decent electric one will run you somewhere in the $300 range, more if you want a fancy laser pointer etc. You can make the same cuts with a handsaw, you will need a very sharp cross cut saw, and you have to be very good with it. You will probably also need a coping saw if you are making chair rail or crown molding. The old masters were very good with hand tools, they could do a lot of things that are routinely done now with an electric miter saw and/or a router, but those skills are mostly lost, and hard to acquire. Good luck.

Advertisement

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 01:59 PM   #3
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 2,616

Tool for cutting MDF

Keeling,

Clamp the box to a table and clamp the work-piece to the box. That's all you need to cut the MDF. MDF is the easiest thing there is to cut.
Mr Chips (09-06-2011)
Old 09-06-2011, 02:59 PM   #4
DIY Hack