Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-12-2011, 12:46 PM   #1
DIY Hack

Rewards Points: 500

Too Good to be true? (Anyone ever try Rockwell Cordless Tools?)

A buddy of mine is in the market for some cordless tools for his new home and stumbled acrossed what looks like a KILLER deal at sears:
It's a set that includes 7 tools and three batteries on sale for $200

He wanted my opinion, but I have no experience with these at all. After doing some looking it seems that they carry a 2 year tool warranty and a LIFETIME battery warranty.

He's not in the trades and not hardcore DIYer, so I think at this price and with the battery warranty it's a no brainer, but was just wondering if anyone has any hands-on experience

Last edited by Mr Chips; 07-12-2011 at 12:50 PM.
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 06:31 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 150

Never used any rockwell tool myself but around here they're on craigslist for nearly nothing.........almost like someone wants to get rid of them.

But if your friend doesnt use tools alot they may be just rite, with the warranty on the batts. and all. IF sears honors the warranty at the store, I wouldnt buy them if you'd have to make claims or get service via mail.

STL B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 09:39 AM   #3
uva uvam videndo variafit

I don't have any experience with them, but I agree that it's prolly just fine for the average home owner. And none if the are precision tools anyhow (say as opposed to a jointer or drill press where precision is good and wobble is bad).
WirelessG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 07:20 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 2,000

This is not the old Rockwell(Delta ) company, but a company that bought the rights to the name some years ago. From what I've read, they are low quality tools, feeding on the old name.
I have never personally used them.