Thoughts On Brands And Quality - Tools - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-06-2015, 12:13 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 26

Thoughts on brands and quality

What are your thoughts on name branded tools?

For example:

Home Depot is Rigid
Lowes is Kobalt
Rona (Canada) is Ryobi
Canadian Tire is Mastercraft
Sears is Craftsman

Of course I know about the bigger brands like Dewalt, Milwaukee, Porter Gable, etc.

Like most here I am just a novice/intermediate wood worker. The tools will mainly be used for home repairs or small home projects like cabinets and such.

I don't want something that will break down after a few uses but something reliable.

Tools I'm looking at getting soon or this year are: router, 12" compound sliding mitre saw, jigsaw and circular saw.

I already own a portable table saw and a drill and palm sander.

Looking to build a few bookshelves in the next few months when tge weather gets better.

I know the replies may be more on a personal preference but I'd still like to hear your thoughts.

Thanks
Steve

Advertisement

sleong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 12:42 PM   #2
World's Tallest Midget

Rewards Points: 650

Any more, they're getting much better. I had a Ryobi 12v drill/driver years ago and it was pretty much a throw away tool. Now, the quality is on par with the name brands.

Ryobi and Ridgid are very nice and reasonably priced.

Kobalt I don't have any experience with, but I've heard good things.