Siding Brake - Tools - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2010, 11:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

siding brake


purchasing a new siding brake, should I buy the Tapco 14 or the Tapco 19?
The 19 is $100 more.

Advertisement

tpost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 03:37 PM   #2
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,817
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

siding brake


The difference between the two is a 14” or 19” throat depth. I have a 14” and have used and abused if for years. It’s a very rare occasion when I need more than a 14” depth. When I do I just take the metal to a local sheet metal shop and let them bend it.

The 14” is a big enough awkward pig for 1 guy to move around. I know I wouldn’t want anything bigger.

I remember and re-read you’re your last post about needing this for just one job. If you’re planning on selling this when you’re done be sure to get the 10’ break. You might find it much harder to sell the 8.

Advertisement

__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 04:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

siding brake


For one job, why not rent it?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:50 PM   #4
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,817
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

siding brake


The reason I didn't mention "rent a break" was due to OP's other thread.

Covering facia and soffit
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 09:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

siding brake


extra depth is usually not needed for most residential siding work
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 02:15 PM   #6
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,585
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

siding brake


I had the smaller depth brake for many years. When I bought a new one, I bought the deeper throat. (don't google that). While you don't necessarily need it to bend typical pieces, it does come in handy when you are cutting pieces from a 24" piece of coil stock. Similar to ripping on a table saw. It many times will eliminate reinserting the wider piece back in the brake to cut off another say 7" strip. The smaller one will get you the same end result, for a $100, the choice is up to you.
Mike Hawkins

Advertisement

firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to firehawkmph For This Useful Post:
Tom Struble (07-24-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rot under vinyl siding zackinma Building & Construction 1 12-28-2009 11:07 PM
New siding, paint exsisting siding, or powerwash?? fixiechick General DIY Discussions 5 01-23-2009 12:50 AM
Siding: Cement Vs. Cedar Grumpy Remodeling 5 03-19-2005 02:07 PM
Siding: Aluminum vs. Vinyl Grumpy Remodeling 1 03-19-2005 01:55 PM
Siding: Aluminum vs. Vinyl Grumpy Remodeling 0 04-18-2004 04:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts