Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-26-2012, 08:36 PM   #1

Share |

Ridgid Impact Driver - Learning how to use one

I recently purchased the 18V drill/driver combo.

18-Volt Drill/Impact Driver Combo 2-Piece-R96862SB at The Home Depot

I have never used an impact driver before. I have always just gotten by with using a drill. Sometimes on real hard wood I would predrill, then back out and drive a screw with the drill.

In trying out this impact driver I am having some real difficulty.

First thing I did was to toe nail some 2x4 studs to the bottom and top plates using 2-1/2" drywall screws. The drill bit slips off the screw quite frequently. Is this because I am using philips screws and I should use better screws like square or star bits? I found that I need to apply pressure as I drive - which is what I had to do with a drill.

The impact driver comes equipped with a hex socket. However it is not magnetic or it grabs the bit, so when I point the driver down it slips off. On my regular drill I use one of these:

Wera Stainless Rapidaptor 3888/4/1 K Universal Bit Holder for 1/4-Inch Hex Drives

So if I put in a bit it stays. Is there some tricks I need so I can avoid dropping the bit whenever my driver is tilted downward a bit.

Last, what is the purpose of the reverse action? Back screws out?

I am sure I am not using it right so any tips and tricks would be greatly appreciated.
miamicuse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:12 PM   #2

#1 Never use drywall screws to do framing. There brittle and will just snap off.
#2 You say you have and impact screw driver then you show a picture of some funky adaptor not an impact drill.