Portable Saw Question - Tools - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-28-2008, 02:36 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Portable saw Question

Over the years, in my home, I have used and gotten used to a radial arm saw which I use for both cross cut and ripping. It's an old 10 inch craftsman that seems to do the work quite well. I now have a small summer "shack" on the beach that needs some work. I am seeking a portable saw of some sort that would perform in a similar manner to my 10 inch radial. I've seen on the web and in stores both portable table saws and portable miter saws. I am new to this larger portable equipment (I do have all the hand tools that I need). My question is what type and brand of saw would be a good substitute for the above radial arm saw. I will be doing a lot of cross cutting and ripping as the "shack" is almost 100 years old and the planking dimensions need to be ripped to size. I will need some level of precision as the tightness of the planks is the primary weather barrier.

Advertisement

Last edited by Gettingintoit; 10-28-2008 at 02:41 PM. Reason: Better undersatanding
Gettingintoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 02:51 PM   #2
Mold!! Let's kill it!

Rewards Points: 2,012

Portable saw Question

Why not another radial arm saw? You are used to using it and it does everything you need. You can probably pick one up for less than the cost of a fair quality table saw and a like quality miter saw.

Advertisement

Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 03:03 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 10

Portable saw Question

Maintenance 6 I need it to be portable.
Gettingintoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 03:18 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 25

Portable saw Question