DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Portable saw Question

3K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  JCAHILL4 
#1 · (Edited)
Over the years, in my home, I have used and gotten used to a radial arm saw which I use for both cross cut and ripping. It's an old 10 inch craftsman that seems to do the work quite well. I now have a small summer "shack" on the beach that needs some work. I am seeking a portable saw of some sort that would perform in a similar manner to my 10 inch radial. I've seen on the web and in stores both portable table saws and portable miter saws. I am new to this larger portable equipment (I do have all the hand tools that I need). My question is what type and brand of saw would be a good substitute for the above radial arm saw. I will be doing a lot of cross cutting and ripping as the "shack" is almost 100 years old and the planking dimensions need to be ripped to size. I will need some level of precision as the tightness of the planks is the primary weather barrier.

#4 ·
I'm a big fan of contractor quality tools, so most of my stuff is DeWalt. Unfortunately, the cost can get up there pretty quick. DeWalt makes a portable job table saw that is pretty light with a separate leg set. Mine was about $500 a few years ago, but for a portable saw, it's pretty precise and has ripped miles of lumber. I even use it for my furniture-grade cuts. I also have a DeWalt 12-inch compound miter saw, which you can pick up for less than $300. This is a lot for a fixer-upper budget, but if you buy it right the first time, you won't have to do it again for a long time!

#5 · (Edited)