DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Tools (http://www.diychatroom.com/f29/)
-   -   Opinions on this power saw? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f29/opinions-power-saw-11811/)

darsunt 09-24-2007 08:32 PM

Opinions on this power saw?
 
I'm thinking about getting a 10" Hitachi compound miter saw, model C10FCH. Does anyone have any experience with this model?

I do building maintenance work, and will probably have one serious woodworking project per month, such as repairing deck fence, installing closet rods, etc.

redline 09-25-2007 03:42 PM

How long will you need this tool?

Jeekinz 09-25-2007 04:53 PM

Spring for a 12" if you're doing any framing. Sliding compound miter?

space_coyote 09-25-2007 09:08 PM

I'd spring for a saw with dual bevel. If you only have a single, you'll have to cut through the back side of the wood for some bevels -- if you're doing trim work, this might be an issue (with rough edges on the back-side of the cut)

Just my 2 cents.

Joining_Heads 09-26-2007 09:59 PM

I would buy a 10" slider. You will never need another saw.

darsunt 09-27-2007 03:49 PM

I plan to keep the saw at least 5 years.

I don't plan to do any framing till after 5 years, when we might be replacing a building.

Upcoming projects: replacing closet rods (want them strong), replacing deck fence section, replacing wood fence gates.

I believe Dewalt is a good name brand too.

Marlin 09-27-2007 08:56 PM

A 10in slider or a 12in normal saw will cut a 4x4. I don't think a normal 10in saw will do it although you can just flip it and cut from both sides. I've never been a fan of Hitachi.
Dewalt is good the only problems I've noticed with Dewalt is the bevel will move when you transport the saw, and you need to crank the lever to lock the bevel and it can get difficult to angle after a few years of use. They may have corrected those problems, I haven't used a Dewalt less then probably six years old. The Milwaukee and Bosch saws I've used lock up much easier and are much easier to angle. I currently have a Ridgid which is decent but has the same problems as the DeWalt, my next miter saw will be a Bosch.
Honestly cutting closet rods, repairing fence posts, or even framing one building isn't heavy duty work for a saw. Heavy duty is when the saw gets set up and is cutting wood all day several days a week. So while a $600 saw is nice it doesn't sound like you would get enough use out of it to warrant the expense.
In conclusion I suggest you buy the best saw you can afford, if a $600 12in dual bevel Bosch sliding saw is out of your price range don't go run up the credit card to get one. Although if you have the money and don't mind spending it it would be a nice saw to have.

darsunt 09-28-2007 02:31 PM

I agree professional grade tools are for every day round the clock hard use. I'm not going to be doing that. I'm just sick of using the hand saw for hours at a time and getting lousy cuts.

I bought a DeWalt compound miter for around $200. I appreciate the advice, now I know the limitations of this tool and where to go if I need to upgrade. But from what you guys are telling me, this saw might last me 10 years.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.