Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2010, 10:57 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Operator Presence Control bar cable - Craftsman mower


I was given a Craftsman 5.5 21" ,model 917.390xxx push mower that I can't start. Oil & gas clean, spark plug good. Then I noticed the operator presence control bar cable appears to be broken at about the halfway point (near the mower handle) . I don't have any experience with the presence bar mowers (my 30 y/o Toro still going strong, but I want to give it to my brother).

Does the Control Bar cable interrupt gas flow, or electrical,or something else, to prevent the mower from starting? Are these cables available for replacement? Can they be bypassed? (just to check if the mower will even start).

SixStrRzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 11:20 AM   #2
(the original)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: long beach, ms
Posts: 603
Rewards Points: 570
Default

Operator Presence Control bar cable - Craftsman mower


The cable controls a safety switch that cuts off the spark when released. Don't try to bypass it or you'll have no way to shut off the mower other than pulling the spark plug cable. You can usually find the cable at any local repair shop cheaper than ordering from Sears.

ratherbefishin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 12:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Operator Presence Control bar cable - Craftsman mower


After digging around a little further, looks like APY made this mower, and the cables are pretty standard (dual Z-ends, bolt or snap-in) - I just have to measure & get the right length & ends. I'm guessing I can disconnect the existing one & tie-wire the engine switch to see if the motor even starts.
SixStrRzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 02:30 PM   #4
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Operator Presence Control bar cable - Craftsman mower


They are readily available and just have ends that clip in place. before you spend any $$ not knowing if anything else is wrong, you could try pulling the lower half tight, while someone tries to start it for you. At least then you'll know if it's worth spending money on
__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 08:21 PM
Ariens or Craftsman Riding Mower? Osiris Landscaping & Lawn Care 3 04-20-2010 08:46 PM
Craftsman pull start bagging mower Yoyizit Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 05-09-2009 11:23 AM
craftsman mower problems ccrodeo425 Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 05-06-2009 05:45 PM
Craftsman Mower leaking gas? cwest94 Landscaping & Lawn Care 2 08-01-2008 09:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.